You are not logged in.

#1 2004-09-14 19:01:27

dcbdbis
Member
From: Aurora, Colorado
Registered: 2004-09-10
Posts: 224

KDE and Network Activity

Hello All,


KDE 3.3.... Uses the network during launch, and also during launch of apps.

If I open a window and "su" then "network stop"... KDE hoses over. If I boot the system with the ethernet unplugged, KDE then flies...

Once DHCP has done it's job though, and gets an IP, turning off the network is fatal to KDE.

I've gone into the Control Center as root, and as my user account and have shut down lisa, Samba client, and all of the internet daemons...

From a Control Center perspective..... I've got the ancillary stuff shutdown...

What on earth is then using my network? How do I run it off?

Thanks!


Dave.......

Offline

#2 2004-09-14 19:07:54

i3839
Member
Registered: 2004-02-04
Posts: 1,185

Re: KDE and Network Activity

You can see which TCP and UDP sockets are opened by which program with "netstat -anput".

Offline

#3 2004-09-14 19:13:58

dcbdbis
Member
From: Aurora, Colorado
Registered: 2004-09-10
Posts: 224

Re: KDE and Network Activity

I'll give this one a shot.....

(That is when I get my KDE menu's back and I can give it a real test.... But that issue's in another forum) smile

Thanks for the post!


Dave.......................

Offline

#4 2004-09-14 23:16:50

Xentac
Forum Fellow
From: Victoria, BC
Registered: 2003-01-17
Posts: 1,797
Website

Re: KDE and Network Activity

Most likely KDE is using the loopback network device (lo), it's a virtual network device that always points back to you.  By '/etc/rc.d/network stop'ing, you don't just stop your ethernet device.


I have discovered that all of mans unhappiness derives from only one source, not being able to sit quietly in a room
- Blaise Pascal

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB