You are not logged in.

#1 2009-03-18 06:57:01

DrTankMC

KDE4 question - Built-in effects compared to compiz/fusion icon/emeral

Hello i am new to the forums and i've been using Arch for a few months now, but i have a couple of questions.

I was a hardcore KDE user in the 3.X days, but when 4.0 first launched i was confused and shocked, so i decided to give Gnome a try and its pretty darn nice, and i have been using it for awhile now.  I just did a fresh install with KDEmod 4.2.1 to see if things have changed and i'm a bit confused.

1. What is the relationship between the effects in kde4 and the old-school method still used in Gnome (fusion-icon, emerald, compiz-config settings manager)?  In gnome i managed to get 99% of everthing working with my Nvidia card on this same pc, but KDE4 i am confused about how to set these options from the CCSM.  These options were essential on Gnome to get the effects tear-free and to get video output tear-free.

2. Can I use the old method on KDE4?  The old method has 20X more effects to choose from.  Any drawbacks to that method?

I won't hesitate to go back to Gnome if i can't get everything working, but it would be nice to use KDE again, as this release seems to be less buggy.

Thanks!

Long live the Organization for the Organized!!!

Ich möchte die Tomatensuppe!

#2 2009-03-18 10:17:57

brazzmonkey

Re: KDE4 question - Built-in effects compared to compiz/fusion icon/emeral

what goes up must come down

#3 2009-03-18 10:43:33

Rasi
Website

kwins effects are faster and more integrated than using compiz on kde.
also the useful plugins have mostly been ported to kwin, the rubbish has been left out smile

He hoped and prayed that there wasn't an afterlife. Then he realized there was a contradiction involved here and merely hoped that there wasn't an afterlife.

Douglas Adams

#4 2009-03-18 10:54:18

b9anders

DrTankMC wrote: