You are not logged in.

#1 2009-03-19 07:50:42

kaola_linux
Member
From: Bacolod City/Philippines
Registered: 2008-09-23
Posts: 513

How to do pacman -Sy under a proxy[SOLVED]

Hi, I'm under the wireless network on our school...They are using a proxy...I've set up firefox to be under this proxy

http proxy:20.20.20.20
port: 8080

when I ping google on the terminal it says unknown host...:(

I've already searched both google and the forums...I had no luck sad

Thanks in advance

Last edited by kaola_linux (2009-03-20 08:17:50)


Netbook (Acer Aspire One 110 || 160gb SATA HD || 1.5gb ram): archlinux i686 / KDEmod 4.3
Registered Linux User # 481212 / Machine Registration # 390468
"In a world without walls and fences, who needs windows and gates?"

Offline

#2 2009-03-19 09:04:34

rebugger
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2007-10-28
Posts: 229

Re: How to do pacman -Sy under a proxy[SOLVED]

I uncomment the Xfercommand for wget in the /etc/pacman.conf and insert my proxy-settings to /etc/wgetrc - dont forget to set use_proxy=on uncomment the 3 lines for proxy.

Offline

#3 2009-03-19 09:15:32

Xyne
Moderator/TU
Registered: 2008-08-03
Posts: 5,688
Website

Re: How to do pacman -Sy under a proxy[SOLVED]

http://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=52132
http://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/How … tification

If you want to use powerpill behind a proxy, check if aria2c respects the exported proxy variables. If not, check "man aria2c" and then add the relevant options to powerpill.conf after "ADDITIONAL_ARIA2C_ARGUMENTS".

Offline

#4 2009-03-19 10:15:13

kaola_linux
Member
From: Bacolod City/Philippines
Registered: 2008-09-23
Posts: 513

Re: How to do pacman -Sy under a proxy[SOLVED]

rebugger wrote:

I uncomment the Xfercommand for wget in the /etc/pacman.conf and insert my proxy-settings to /etc/wgetrc - dont forget to set use_proxy=on uncomment the 3 lines for proxy.

I've succesfully done your tip...Thanks alot..:D

I'm also using powerpill to speed up the speed of downloading huge packages...But it's still not clear to me..Where can I find the config files for using proxy on powerpill xyne? Btw, I'm using the default config of powerpill...I have not used a custom config file...:(

Last edited by kaola_linux (2009-03-19 10:15:44)


Netbook (Acer Aspire One 110 || 160gb SATA HD || 1.5gb ram): archlinux i686 / KDEmod 4.3
Registered Linux User # 481212 / Machine Registration # 390468
"In a world without walls and fences, who needs windows and gates?"

Offline

#5 2009-03-19 11:53:22

Xyne
Moderator/TU
Registered: 2008-08-03
Posts: 5,688
Website

Re: How to do pacman -Sy under a proxy[SOLVED]

Just run "powerpill --gen-conf" to create the config file (~/.config/powerpill/powerpill.conf by default). Look for the ADDITIONAL_ARIA2C_ARGUMENTS line and add whatever aria2c arguments you need to make the proxy work.

You'll have to check the man page for aria2c to see how to configure it to use your proxy settings.


An alternative solution is to directly edit aria2c's configuration file to use your proxy. If you do this then you do not need to do anything with powerpill's configuration file. I think I would actually recommend this method instead.

Offline

#6 2009-03-20 08:15:29

kaola_linux
Member
From: Bacolod City/Philippines
Registered: 2008-09-23
Posts: 513

Re: How to do pacman -Sy under a proxy[SOLVED]

Xyne wrote:

Just run "powerpill --gen-conf" to create the config file (~/.config/powerpill/powerpill.conf by default). Look for the ADDITIONAL_ARIA2C_ARGUMENTS line and add whatever aria2c arguments you need to make the proxy work.

You'll have to check the man page for aria2c to see how to configure it to use your proxy settings.


An alternative solution is to directly edit aria2c's configuration file to use your proxy. If you do this then you do not need to do anything with powerpill's configuration file. I think I would actually recommend this method instead.

Thanks alot xyne, I've used the first method you've mentioned and it was working...:D


Netbook (Acer Aspire One 110 || 160gb SATA HD || 1.5gb ram): archlinux i686 / KDEmod 4.3
Registered Linux User # 481212 / Machine Registration # 390468
"In a world without walls and fences, who needs windows and gates?"

Offline

#7 2009-04-11 09:43:04

matu
Member
Registered: 2009-02-27
Posts: 2

Re: How to do pacman -Sy under a proxy[SOLVED]

Thanks A Lot !

Last edited by matu (2009-04-11 09:54:52)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB