You are not logged in.

#1 2009-03-24 06:43:10

estex198

simple java class - critique please!

Here is my lab assignment homework. I've already received credit for this assignment. I'm asking for tips to improve THIS code. I'm curious as to how the program could run more efficiently, resource-friendly, or look simpler for someone else performing modifications. How would a professional programmer write a class that functions the same as this one? What do you think about the variables I'm using and their scope? Would you use more/fewer variables? More/fewer methods? I'm not very good at documenting my code.  Any tips for providing better documentation? Any other tips or pointers are welcome. Thanks a lot for your time.

- Rusty

// Lab 6 Occupant class
// Rusty Estes
// 03-23-09
// CS 160 MWF 9am
import java.text.DecimalFormat;

public class Occupant
{
    DecimalFormat df = new DecimalFormat("$#,###.00");

private int adults,
            children,
            numberNights;

String discount;

private double baseCharge, return_value;
    private boolean AAA_mem, AARP_mem;

final double MOTEL_TAX_RATE = .10,
             REG_ADULT_RATE = 25.0,
             REG_CHILD_RATE = 8.0,
             DISCNT_ADULT_RATE = 20.0,
             DISCNT_CHILD_RATE = 7.50,
             DISCNT_MULT_NIGHT = .85;

// * All constructor variables start with the prefix "cstr_" *
public Occupant(int cstr_adults, int cstr_children, int cstr_numberNights, boolean cstr_AAA_mem, boolean cstr_AARP_mem)
{
    this.adults = cstr_adults;
    this.children = cstr_children;
    this.numberNights = cstr_numberNights;
    this.AAA_mem = cstr_AAA_mem;
    this.AARP_mem = cstr_AARP_mem;
} // end constructor method

public int getAdults()
{
      return this.adults;
} // end method getAdults

public int getChildren()
{
      return this.children;
} // end method getChildren

public int getNumberNights()
{
      return this.numberNights;
} // end method getNumberNights

public double getAdultCharge()
{