You are not logged in.

#1 2009-03-24 23:54:30

milomouse
Website

Getting Fluxbox or xfce to run properly (Slim login failing)

I'm under some time constraints with being online but really wanted to throw a question out there that I'm having issues with. I did a fresh install of Archlinux a couple days ago and was installing packages I already knew I wanted for when I set up a WM or "gui desktop" type of deal (the whole time I've been using console).

Now, I'm new to Archlinux and setting things up like this (I've been using openSUSE for the past few years so I've been pretty jaded by the ease of installing through programs like Yast and other distros with Synaptic). I downloaded Xorg and did the few set-up steps found on the Archlinux Tutorials site and then downloaded the base for Xfce4 so I could have something to tinker around with for when I used Fluxbox (downloaded that as well). Total newbie to this, remember. Anyway, I installed Slim and everything seemed to look good in the .conf file so I put it on DAEMON to start up and when I go to reboot it loads the pretty Slim login screen but everytime I try logging in it gives says Exec login failed and the screen goes black and starts again; repeating this loop until I manually kill it.

[edit] Also installed my graphic card driver. (xf86-video-ati)

Sooo, this is my issue. I try starting Fluxbox or Xfce that way but it refuses to login; I try starting fluxbox by doing something like "startfluxbox" but it says it cannot find the command. When I do "startxfce" it loads Xfce and I can see the desktop but I can't do anything. The mouse is frozen and the keyboard is frozen. I made sure to download X11 keyboard and mouse input and the mouse and keyboard work just fine on the Slim login screen, but like I said, attempting to login with Slim doesn't work for me. I'm sorry I'm so vague and befuddled sounding but I really don't know how else to explain it.