You are not logged in.

#1 2009-03-28 00:57:17

luskjh
Member
Registered: 2009-03-24
Posts: 19

VirtualBox can't use USB

Hi,

I recently installed VirtualBox (PUEL) in order to run robotC under xp pro.  Everything has worked fine...except getting the usb drive to mount.  When the VM is running and I highlight the 'Devices' menu, under 'USB' it sees my drive (it says the name and all e.g. "Sony 57536 flash drive"), but the menu item is not highlighted, and cannot be found in my computer either.  Any thoughts on this?  I followed the wiki and added the usb add groups line to /etc/fstab...is they're anything else I'm missing?

Any help on this is greatly appreicated smile

-jhl


Calm down, it is only ones and zeroes.
       -flyingfsck ( on /. )

Offline

#2 2009-03-28 10:05:04

MoffspringR
Member
Registered: 2009-03-23
Posts: 36

Re: VirtualBox can't use USB

Add this:

Add the following line to "/etc/fstab" if you want the vboxusers to have permission to emulate USB devices: none /proc/bus/usb usbfs auto,busgid=108,busmode=0775,devgid=108,devmode=0664 0 0


Laptop: Sony Vaio VGN-FW21E    => Nickname: The worker
Hardware: Intel C2D P8400 (2.26GHz) + 4GB DDRII + 320GB SATAII + ATI Radeon HD3470
System: ArchLinux 64bits + 2.6.28-Arch + Gnome/KDE
I am registered Linux user number 437535, registered in 2006-12-13.

Offline

#3 2009-03-28 14:18:38

luskjh
Member
Registered: 2009-03-24
Posts: 19

Re: VirtualBox can't use USB

# 
# /etc/fstab: static file system information
#
# <file system>        <dir>         <type>    <options>          <dump> <pass>
none                   /dev/pts      devpts    defaults            0      0
none                   /dev/shm      tmpfs     defaults            0      0

/dev/cdrom             /media/cd   auto    ro,user,noauto,unhide   0      0
/dev/dvd               /media/dvd  auto    ro,user,noauto,unhide   0      0
/dev/fd0               /media/fl   auto    user,noauto             0      0
/dev/sdc           /mnt/usbhd  msdos   noauto,user,owner,rw 0 0
none /proc/bus/usb usbfs 
auto,busgid=108,busmode=0775,devgid=108,devmode=0664 0 0

UUID=86312c7a-0a41-4bf5-bc96-2585d0af3710 /home ext3 defaults 0 1
UUID=865902ae-b8db-4952-ae3b-71b42ccb885b /boot ext2 defaults 0 1
UUID=ada0dedd-a9a3-478e-95d7-e242463542dc / ext3 defaults 0 1
UUID=cfb06d4d-ac96-46fd-8199-8fb757386778 swap swap defaults 0 0

This is by current /etc/fstab file, with the added lines.  Unfortunatley, that didn't do the trick sad.

Am I placing the code line in the wrong place?

-jhl

Last edited by luskjh (2009-03-29 04:39:53)


Calm down, it is only ones and zeroes.
       -flyingfsck ( on /. )

Offline

#4 2009-03-28 14:33:16

Arm-the-Homeless
Member
Registered: 2008-12-22
Posts: 273

Re: VirtualBox can't use USB

It's one line.

none /proc/bus/usb usbfs auto,busgid=108,busmode=0775,devgid=108,devmode=0664 0 0

Offline

#5 2009-03-28 15:01:24

thefatprecious
Member
From: Austin, TX
Registered: 2009-02-13
Posts: 98

Re: VirtualBox can't use USB

On my system it's different, so you may want to make sure the busgid and devgid match the group id of the vboxusers group.

i.e.

~ $  grep vboxusers /etc/group
vboxusers:x:108:luskjh

if it's not 108 change the number in your fstab entry....and don't forget to re-plug the device after making the change wink


ILoveCandy

Offline

#6 2009-03-28 18:11:46

konni
Member
From: berlin
Registered: 2008-09-25
Posts: 98

Re: VirtualBox can't use USB

and for me just mounting it wasn't enough, had to reboot too...

Offline

#7 2009-04-02 17:11:51

MoffspringR
Member
Registered: 2009-03-23
Posts: 36

Re: VirtualBox can't use USB

wrong answer at wrong topic... Any moderator can delete this message?

Last edited by MoffspringR (2009-04-02 17:14:07)


Laptop: Sony Vaio VGN-FW21E    => Nickname: The worker
Hardware: Intel C2D P8400 (2.26GHz) + 4GB DDRII + 320GB SATAII + ATI Radeon HD3470
System: ArchLinux 64bits + 2.6.28-Arch + Gnome/KDE
I am registered Linux user number 437535, registered in 2006-12-13.

Offline

#8 2009-04-02 17:12:33

MoffspringR
Member
Registered: 2009-03-23
Posts: 36

Re: VirtualBox can't use USB

I have the same problem...

I add my user on "vboxusers" group, add line on my fstab, but my virtual machine doesn't detect any usb device...




Edit: My usb device works... I forget reboot my laptop eheheh

Last edited by MoffspringR (2009-04-02 17:23:09)


Laptop: Sony Vaio VGN-FW21E    => Nickname: The worker
Hardware: Intel C2D P8400 (2.26GHz) + 4GB DDRII + 320GB SATAII + ATI Radeon HD3470
System: ArchLinux 64bits + 2.6.28-Arch + Gnome/KDE
I am registered Linux user number 437535, registered in 2006-12-13.

Offline

#9 2009-04-02 19:49:27

R00KIE
Forum Moderator
From: Between a computer and a chair
Registered: 2008-09-14
Posts: 3,286

Re: VirtualBox can't use USB

http://www.virtualbox.org/wiki/Editions
vbox puel has no usb support, install the virtuabox-bin from aur.

Edit:
My mistake, the PUEL is the same as virtualbox_bin and that _does_ support usb and it's working fine here .... double check you followed all the steps of the wiki. Don't forget you need to logout and log back in for the changes to the groups to make effect (after you add yourself to the vboxusers group).
Flash drives do work on a linux guest (moblin) with Arch32 as a host, just tested it. With windows guests ... who knows.
If anyone is interested or thinking about it, webcams don't seem to work inside a virtual machine so maybe some other things will not work too.

Last edited by R00KIE (2009-04-02 23:04:58)


R00KIE
Tm90aGluZyB0byBzZWUgaGVyZSwgbW92ZSBhbG9uZy4K

Offline

#10 2009-04-02 19:53:07

MoffspringR
Member
Registered: 2009-03-23
Posts: 36

Re: VirtualBox can't use USB

My virtualbox come from AUR.

hey.. another member from portugal big_smile


Laptop: Sony Vaio VGN-FW21E    => Nickname: The worker
Hardware: Intel C2D P8400 (2.26GHz) + 4GB DDRII + 320GB SATAII + ATI Radeon HD3470
System: ArchLinux 64bits + 2.6.28-Arch + Gnome/KDE
I am registered Linux user number 437535, registered in 2006-12-13.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB