You are not logged in.

#1 2009-04-03 12:02:06

Vintendo
Website

C or C++

Hi everybody,

I am a computer science student who is bored. I am learning java at school but it's going to slow, I get it all. So I want to learn a new language. I tried python but I dont like it. Haskell is like magic and I dont have that much energy to put into it.
Now I want to choose between C++ and C. C++ seems like C with a lot of extra stuff in it. What do you recommend for a little cli programming? C doesnt know classes right?

#2 2009-04-03 12:05:46

peets
Website

Re: C or C++

Isn't there another thread with this exact title?

C is fun because linux is written in C; all system calls are C functions.

C++ is like Java, but you have to do memory management yourself.

#3 2009-04-03 12:06:25

Allan
Pacman
Website

I think C is very similar to java in terms of programming style.  C would be a lower level language for you to learn.

#4 2009-04-03 12:06:56

thomasknowles

Depends on the programming paradigm you are comfortable with. C is a procedural language thus you would not get the object orientated goodies such as information hiding, data abstraction, encapsulation, modularity, polymorphism, and inheritance (I pinched that last bit from wikipedia).

#5 2009-04-03 12:23:37

Vintendo
Website

@feels I thought so but I couldnt find it.

I think I am going to go with C, nice and low level. Thanks for the incredibly fast responses!

#6 2009-04-03 21:37:50

pauldonnelly

Vintendo wrote:

Haskell is like magic and I dont have that much energy to put into it.

Then stay far away from C++. It will suck you dry. Of your two choices, go with C, but that doesn't mean there aren't better choices.

http://www.cs.cmu.edu/~dst/LispBook/index.html
http://gigamonkeys.com/book/

#7 2009-04-03 23:24:27

jumzi

Pfft i wanna deacently learn myself C and C++... I hate that i have so much else todo atm... tcp/ip, html, css and the alike, booring ground stuff... (Altought it isnt booring at all big_smile )