You are not logged in.

#1 2004-09-20 08:41:32

maniel
Member
From: Poland, Bialystok
Registered: 2004-08-07
Posts: 23

[NEW] quake2 0.3

Yes, it's me again:P
This is a quake2 (from quakeforge) PKGBUILD:

pkgname=quake2
pkgver=0.3
pkgrel=1
pkgdesc="Quake ][ Forge"
url="http://www.quakeforge.net/"
depends=('alsa-lib' 'sdl' 'libao' x-server'')
makedepends=('alsa-lib' 'sdl' 'libao' 'x-server')
source=('ftp://ftp.quakeforge.net/quake2forge/quake2-0.3.tar.bz2' 'quake2.sh')
md5sums=('af115d76a2f09d5847acb10e55bfa850' 'c06d3b2b594e8ea0abf5938c98aca0dc')

build() {
        cd $startdir/src/$pkgname-$pkgver
        ./configure -C --prefix=/opt/quake2
        make || return 1
        make DESTDIR=$startdir/pkg install
        mkdir -p $startdir/pkg/etc/profile.d/
        cp $startdir/quake2.sh $startdir/pkg/etc/profile.d/
        chmod a+x  $startdir/pkg/etc/profile.d/quake2.sh
}

As you see I've placed the game in opt, it's IMHO the best solution (why? dunno:P)
And this is the quake2.sh file:

export PATH=$PATH:/opt/quake2/bin

(really short, isn't it?:P)
To play the game you must have a full version of the game & copy the *.pak files to /opt/quake2/share/quake2/baseq2/
ENJOY!!!!:D


i don't like people saying that program doesn't work but printing on the console weird message like "bash: command_name: command not found" (it's real!!)
BTW, I'm using Jabber - the best IM protocol ever seen:)

Offline

#2 2004-09-20 09:12:21

IceRAM
Member
From: Bucharest, Romania
Registered: 2004-03-04
Posts: 772
Website

Re: [NEW] quake2 0.3

You could put the instructions for copying the .pak files in an install file, together with the PKGBUILD (check the manpage of makepkg).
Otherwise, have a nice gaming experience Arch users!... smile

If there was only something similar for Unreal Tournament 2004... Is there?

Offline

#3 2004-09-20 10:37:16

JaH
Member
From: Finland
Registered: 2004-02-12
Posts: 14

Re: [NEW] quake2 0.3

Sorry if I'm wrong
but wouldn't it be better if it depends x-server instead of xfree86

Otherwise good package  big_smile

Offline

#4 2004-09-20 10:50:39

lanrat
Member
From: Poland
Registered: 2003-10-28
Posts: 1,274

Re: [NEW] quake2 0.3

You are not wrong it's better to have x-server in the depends array.

Offline

#5 2004-09-20 11:08:26

maniel
Member
From: Poland, Bialystok
Registered: 2004-08-07
Posts: 23

Re: [NEW] quake2 0.3

Hmm it's not a problem IMO because xorg provides both xfree86 and x-server
But... if ypu wish ... (see above)


i don't like people saying that program doesn't work but printing on the console weird message like "bash: command_name: command not found" (it's real!!)
BTW, I'm using Jabber - the best IM protocol ever seen:)

Offline

#6 2004-09-20 15:53:08

Xentac
Forum Fellow
From: Victoria, BC
Registered: 2003-01-17
Posts: 1,797
Website

Re: [NEW] quake2 0.3

It is, because eventually xorg will not provide xfree86.  x-server is the one to use.


I have discovered that all of mans unhappiness derives from only one source, not being able to sit quietly in a room
- Blaise Pascal

Offline

#7 2005-02-06 11:00:03

dtw
Forum Fellow
From: UK
Registered: 2004-08-03
Posts: 4,439
Website

Re: [NEW] quake2 0.3

how the hell did i miss this thread when i put my quake 2 stuff up?  mine is different but I DID search for quake2 before i even bothered!  weird!

I reckon the forum plays silly buggers sometimes!

Offline

#8 2005-02-06 21:26:32

thegnu
Member
From: Brooklyn, NY
Registered: 2004-05-04
Posts: 280
Website

Re: [NEW] quake2 0.3

In simple cases like this, would it be possible to use sed or cat to create the quake2.sh file from within the script?  It seems cleaner to me that way.


fffft!

Offline

#9 2005-02-07 10:07:11

dtw
Forum Fellow
From: UK
Registered: 2004-08-03
Posts: 4,439
Website

Re: [NEW] quake2 0.3

i reckon.

just a simple

echo "export PATH=$PATH:/opt/quake2/bin" >$startdir/pkg/etc/profile.d/quake2.sh
chmod a+x  $startdir/pkg/etc/profile.d/quake2.sh

would that work too?

Offline

#10 2005-02-08 22:40:35

Father
Member
From: Australia
Registered: 2004-06-01
Posts: 209

Re: [NEW] quake2 0.3

IMO its better to put games under /usr/local/games and then symlink the exe(s) in /usr/local/bin
this is where 99% of commercial (ie, installed from cd) install themselves..
i think putting it in /opt makes it a bit more fragmented and also requires the extra addition to $PATH

nothing against /opt.. i like using it.. but i dont think it fits in this case..

Offline

#11 2005-02-08 22:57:25

phrakture
Arch Overlord
From: behind you
Registered: 2003-10-29
Posts: 7,879
Website

Re: [NEW] quake2 0.3

i'll second what Father said - that dir tree was made for games (hence the name) so let's use it

Offline

#12 2005-02-09 09:18:16

dtw
Forum Fellow
From: UK
Registered: 2004-08-03
Posts: 4,439
Website

Re: [NEW] quake2 0.3

except not the /local/ bit, right? we never use that do we?

Offline

#13 2005-02-09 13:20:10

thegnu
Member
From: Brooklyn, NY
Registered: 2004-05-04
Posts: 280
Website

Re: [NEW] quake2 0.3

dibblethewrecker wrote:

except not the /local/ bit, right? we never use that do we?

I thought local was where I put non-stock stuff, like apps I install manually...  I really don't know.


fffft!

Offline

#14 2005-05-06 18:24:06

Father
Member
From: Australia
Registered: 2004-06-01
Posts: 209

Re: [NEW] quake2 0.3

yeah.. /usr/local is generally for installs made by the user, where as /usr is generally for installs done via package manager / default distro system / whatnot.. (with the exception that development / critical libraries will generally go int /usr no matter what... if that made any sense?!)

although this is being done via a package manager.. i still like having things centralised, and since all commercial games go to /usr/local/games, im edging toward putting package managed games there too...

im not sure what other people think.. im sort of divided myself.. but for the time being my game PKGBUILDs are going to /usr/local

otherwise we could use /opt/games/xxxxx just to keep them away from system components..

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB