You are not logged in.

#1 2009-04-04 11:00:15

Aktau
Website

X.org issues (likely intel related)

Hey there, I'm rather new to Arch (not really time-based, I've had Arch on my laptop for some time, just haven't used it too much). And I decided to be adventurous for a change.
Long story short, I could not wait for the KMS + DRI2 + UXA goodness that the .29 kernel and the 2.6/2.7 intel drivers (I have a 915) have to offer.

So, foolishly, I enabled testing and upgraded my X.org to 1.6, my kernel to .29 and all the other cutting edge stuff. When I started up X, everything seemed just dandy, except for the fact that my performance was exactly the same (in glxgears*). This would not have dissatisfied me too much as I don't use a compositing desktop (I'm trying out Awesome 3 from the Awesome repo). But, the other thing I encounted was the fact that ctrl+alt+bksp wasn't working anymore, which was a real pain. Also, even worse, my mouse wasn't working correctly anymore, it was constantly jumping here and there, making it very difficult to use my Awesome (super+z) menu.

This is when I decided to have a brain aneurysm and try to go the full monty. First of all I enabled UXA in my xorg.conf. Which didn't really work, I saw a flickering Awesomebar and sometimes I got to see my menu. But hey, at least X didn't crash. As if that wasn't enough indication that it was probably not going to work, I resolved that my UXA problems were due to KMS not being enabled.

So I follewed the instructions right here: http://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php? … 65#p522665