You are not logged in.

#1 2004-09-21 04:41:20

scusack
Member
From: Australia
Registered: 2003-11-24
Posts: 18

gtk/gnome upgrade -> libcroco problem

Hi,

just did a pacman -Syu and updated gtk/gnome and a bunch of other stuff (did my last -Syu about a week ago), did a startx and some weirdness started to happen, splash screen wouldn't go away and a message box about not being able to load libcroco.so.2 was hiding under the splash screen.

Had a hunt around and made a symlink for libcroco.so.2 to libcroco-0.6.so.3.0.0 and did a startx everything looks fine.

Anybody else had this problem?

Offline

#2 2004-09-21 06:05:57

tor
Member
From: Sweden
Registered: 2004-08-02
Posts: 80

Re: gtk/gnome upgrade -> libcroco problem

Yes, i experienced the exakt same thing just a moment ago. I installed udev (and did a -Syu) but i think the problem came with udev. Got the exakt same problems you describe.

Offline

#3 2004-09-21 09:07:15

scusack
Member
From: Australia
Registered: 2003-11-24
Posts: 18

Re: gtk/gnome upgrade -> libcroco problem

I installed udev about a week ago but didn't get the problem until todays upgrade so I assumed it was part of the new gtk/gnome stuff.

Offline

#4 2004-09-21 12:45:28

ganlu
Member
From: ChongQing, China
Registered: 2004-01-04
Posts: 336

Re: gtk/gnome upgrade -> libcroco problem

Yes, the same problem and same work-arount.

Offline

#5 2004-09-21 15:23:57

filattiera
Member
From: Filattiera (Italy)
Registered: 2004-03-01
Posts: 68

Re: gtk/gnome upgrade -> libcroco problem

Yes,

I have the same problem.  It is a libcroco problem.

But I don't know how to resolv it.

Offline

#6 2004-09-21 16:08:35

patrix
Member
Registered: 2004-08-27
Posts: 51

Re: gtk/gnome upgrade -> libcroco problem

yep, same problem. Aren't these packages supposed to be tested before release?

Offline

#7 2004-09-21 22:41:03

Martillo1
Member
From: My kabila in Lavapiés
Registered: 2004-02-20
Posts: 66

Re: gtk/gnome upgrade -> libcroco problem

I edited the associated PKGBUILD file to revert it to CVS version 1.3 using the diff information, recompiled (srcpac -Sb libcroco, and some tricky downloads (jade source gave me problems, it did not download from 'ftp.debian.org')) and it works fine now.

My first downgrade!!!  lol

Offline

#8 2004-09-22 04:56:51

scusack
Member
From: Australia
Registered: 2003-11-24
Posts: 18

Re: gtk/gnome upgrade -> libcroco problem

Hi all,

after a couple of days with my symlink solution I don't think it is the optimal solution.

When I use wingide 2 it crashes at random intervals also when I quit from x windows there are messages that windows are trying to "set root to None" or something like that.

Does anybody have the previous libcroco in their /var/cache/pacman/ directory that they want to upload to somewhere?

Offline

#9 2004-09-22 09:14:54

Martillo1
Member
From: My kabila in Lavapiés
Registered: 2004-02-20
Posts: 66

Re: gtk/gnome upgrade -> libcroco problem

Do what I did:

1.- srcpac -Sby.

2.- The file to edit is /var/abs/lib/libcroco/PKGBUILD and you can find the diff here: http://cvs.archlinux.org/cgi-bin/viewcv … ag=CURRENT

3.- srcpac -Sb libcroco

Maybe you will have to upgrade/install jade beforehand through pacman -S jade for the jade source did not download automatically from the debian site.

It worked for me smile

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB