You are not logged in.

#1 2009-04-19 18:39:42

securitybreach
Member
From: In front of my computers
Registered: 2007-11-18
Posts: 409
Website

Flash not going entirely fullscreen. Space at bottom and top

I am running Arch 64bit and I noticed that whenever I go fullscreen on a flash video, I have a space around the video and it does not go completely fullscreen. I experiencing this on the current firefox in pacman.  I have flash version:

bash-3.2$ pacman -Qi flashplugin
Name           : flashplugin
Version        : 10.0.22.87-1
URL            : http://www.adobe.com/go/getflash
Licenses       : custom  
Groups         : None
Provides       : flashplayer  
Depends On     : mozilla-common  libxt  gtk2  nss  curl  
Optional Deps  : None
Required By    : None
Conflicts With : None
Replaces       : flashplugin-beta  
Installed Size : 12396.00 K
Packager       : Pierre Schmitz <pierre@archlinux.de>
Architecture   : x86_64
Build Date     : Wed 25 Feb 2009 04:43:44 AM EST
Install Date   : Mon 13 Apr 2009 04:34:58 PM EDT
Install Reason : Explicitly installed
Install Script : No
Description    : Adobe Flash Player

I do not think that it is the version of flash causing the problem because I have the same version running on a 64bit Fedora as well. Here is a screenshot of what I am talking about:
cc4e4633135231.gif
I searched the forums first and did not find anything like what I am experiencing. I also looked through the flash settings and I did not see where it mentions fullscreen. If it matters, I am running Openbox.

Thanks

Last edited by securitybreach (2009-04-19 18:49:05)


"Every normal man must be tempted at times to spit upon his hands, hoist the black flag, and begin slitting throats." -- H.L. Mencken
Website      Configs
Forum Admin: Bruno's All Things Linux   
securitybreach<a>archlinux.us

Offline

#2 2009-04-19 18:51:22

SkonesMickLoud
Arch Linux f@h Team Member
From: The D of C
Registered: 2008-09-20
Posts: 178

Re: Flash not going entirely fullscreen. Space at bottom and top

Do you have any screen margins set in rc.xml?

Offline

#3 2009-04-19 18:53:10

securitybreach
Member
From: In front of my computers
Registered: 2007-11-18
Posts: 409
Website

Re: Flash not going entirely fullscreen. Space at bottom and top

Nope:

<margins>
    <top>0</top>
    <bottom>0</bottom>
    <left>0</left>
    <right>0</right>
  </margins>

Also, I use the same rc.xml in Fedora without the problem. So its not that.

Thanks

Last edited by securitybreach (2009-04-19 18:57:01)


"Every normal man must be tempted at times to spit upon his hands, hoist the black flag, and begin slitting throats." -- H.L. Mencken
Website      Configs
Forum Admin: Bruno's All Things Linux   
securitybreach<a>archlinux.us

Offline

#4 2009-04-20 01:34:15

securitybreach
Member
From: In front of my computers
Registered: 2007-11-18
Posts: 409
Website

Re: Flash not going entirely fullscreen. Space at bottom and top

Well hulu.com does it correct except the sides are still cutoff. Maybe its a youtube thing. Although, it does not happen on my other machiens.

Thanks

Last edited by securitybreach (2009-04-20 01:35:52)


"Every normal man must be tempted at times to spit upon his hands, hoist the black flag, and begin slitting throats." -- H.L. Mencken
Website      Configs
Forum Admin: Bruno's All Things Linux   
securitybreach<a>archlinux.us

Offline

#5 2009-04-20 14:17:29

R00KIE
Forum Moderator
From: Between a computer and a chair
Registered: 2008-09-14
Posts: 3,381

Re: Flash not going entirely fullscreen. Space at bottom and top

Two words: Aspect Ratio.
Sometimes videos have black bars on the top and bottom already, so if you stretch it while maintaining the aspect ratio then most probably you will have black bars all around, usually you will have black bars either on the sides or top and bottom of your screen in full screen unless the aspect ratio of the video matches the one of your monitor, or if you disregard aspect ratio and let circles become ovals big_smile


R00KIE
Tm90aGluZyB0byBzZWUgaGVyZSwgbW92ZSBhbG9uZy4K

Offline

#6 2009-04-20 14:43:11

securitybreach
Member
From: In front of my computers
Registered: 2007-11-18
Posts: 409
Website

Re: Flash not going entirely fullscreen. Space at bottom and top

Oh ok that makes sense. I always use the aspect ratio in mplayer: -aspect 16:10.  But I figured flash was different because I get the same video size on a 1200x1024 and a 1024x768 monitor.


Thanks


"Every normal man must be tempted at times to spit upon his hands, hoist the black flag, and begin slitting throats." -- H.L. Mencken
Website      Configs
Forum Admin: Bruno's All Things Linux   
securitybreach<a>archlinux.us

Offline

#7 2009-04-20 16:46:38

R00KIE
Forum Moderator
From: Between a computer and a chair
Registered: 2008-09-14
Posts: 3,381

Re: Flash not going entirely fullscreen. Space at bottom and top

You should not force the aspect ratio in mplayer or any other player otherwise you get a distorted video (how much depends on how much you deviate from the correct aspect ratio). The only case where you need to force an aspect ratio is if the video is encoded with one aspect ratio and it should be displayed with another aspect ratio but these are very rare cases as most videos you find will display correctly.

Getting a video of the same size may be related to how much upscaling flash allows you to do, if you have a 320x240 video and you upscale it to a 1200x1024 monitor it will look terrible so one way to make it look less bad is to limit upscaling to 2x or 3x. It may also be the case that it is not even doing any upscaling (to avoid loosing quality with any resize), just showing you the whole video in the original resolution but centered in the screen and without anything else distracting you.


R00KIE
Tm90aGluZyB0byBzZWUgaGVyZSwgbW92ZSBhbG9uZy4K

Offline

#8 2009-04-20 17:27:35

securitybreach
Member
From: In front of my computers
Registered: 2007-11-18
Posts: 409
Website

Re: Flash not going entirely fullscreen. Space at bottom and top

I have never had an issue when using 16:10 aspect on any avi and I never gotten a distorted picture. Most avi files are 4:3 so stretching to 16:10 does not cause any issues for me. But that was not the issue, the issue was how flash handled aspect.

Thanks

Last edited by securitybreach (2009-04-20 17:29:04)


"Every normal man must be tempted at times to spit upon his hands, hoist the black flag, and begin slitting throats." -- H.L. Mencken
Website      Configs
Forum Admin: Bruno's All Things Linux   
securitybreach<a>archlinux.us

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB