You are not logged in.

#1 2009-04-19 19:19:18

tuxknight
Member
Registered: 2008-08-02
Posts: 5

Toshiba L300-1AS ACPI problems!

The thing is that the lappy doesn't recognise whether ac adaptor is plugged or not (hot plugging) kde loads correct profile on boot but if i  remove ac adaptor kde still shows that system is running with ac plugged in! sad but i got some clues,

[darshana@myhost ~]$ sudo acpi -a
Adapter 0: on-line

while ac adaptor plugged

[darshana@myhost ~]$ sudo acpi -a
Adapter 0: on-line

same even after unplugging hmm

[darshana@myhost ~]$ sudo acpi -b
Battery 0: Discharging, 100%, 12:20:14 remaining

battery status when adaptor unplugged

[darshana@myhost ~]$ sudo acpi -b
Battery 0: Unknown, 100%

when charging
and after a suspend to ram by pm, things start working fine and acpi -a tells truth and kde power management loads correctprofiles, and i'm sure that the problem is in backend as acpi -a command gives false results when asking about ac adaptor!
loading toshiba_acpi don't work, as i saw on some forums, specially ubuntu, i saw that many people got this problem!
and i guess that if we can just find the part of pm-suspend (suspend to ram) which makes the things work and make the portion a script and make it run through a daemon, or autostart by WM.

Last edited by tuxknight (2009-04-19 19:20:54)

Offline

#2 2009-06-10 17:09:09

lukrop
Member
From: /at/vienna
Registered: 2008-01-30
Posts: 27
Website

Re: Toshiba L300-1AS ACPI problems!

Exactly the same problem here (L300D-21P) sad

Offline

#3 2009-06-11 17:39:54

mits
Member
From: Bucharest/Romania
Registered: 2008-01-10
Posts: 129

Re: Toshiba L300-1AS ACPI problems!

I have a Toshiba L300-1AM and I solved almoust all acpi problem:
I installed omnibook-svn modules (for 2.6.29 kernel PKGBUILD need a modify) here my PKGBUILD:

_kernver=2.6.29-ARCH
pkgname=omnibook-svn
pkgver=280
pkgrel=1
pkgdesc="Kernel module for HP OmniBook,Pavilion,Toshiba and Compal ACL00 laptops"
arch=('i686' 'x86_64')
url="http://omnibook.sourceforge.net"
license=('GPL')
depends=('kernel26')
[url]makedepends=('subversion')
conflicts=('omnibook')
provides=('omnibook')
install=omnibook.install
source=()
md5sums=()

_svntrunk="https://omnibook.svn.sourceforge.net/svnroot/omnibook/omnibook/trunk"
_svnmod=omnibook

build() {
  cd $startdir/src
  msg "Connecting to SVN server..."
  msg "Checking out $_svnmod"
  yes "p" | svn co $_svntrunk --config-dir ./ -r $pkgver $_svnmod
  cd $_svnmod 
  msg "SVN checkout done or server timeout"
  msg "Starting build..."
  cp -r ../$_svnmod ../$_svnmod-build
  cd ../$_svnmod-build
  make  KVER=${_kernver} || return 1
  #Install kernel module
  install -D -m644 omnibook.ko $startdir/pkg/lib/modules/${_kernver}/kernel/drivers/misc/omnibook.ko
  sed -i -e "s/KERNEL_VERSION='.*'/KERNEL_VERSION='${_kernver}'/" $startdir/*.install
  rm -rf $startdir/src/$_svnmod-build
}

then I put these line in /etc/modprobe.conf and /etc/modprobe.d/options

options omnibook ectype=11 userset=1

ectype differ on you can be 12 ...etc
take a look here http://www.eoinmurphy.org/2009/01/10/om … mment-2757
Add omnibook module in MODULES line of /etc/rc.conf
I made to work suspend/resume too
My pm-suspend is working after that trick:
- because pm-suspend to ram not going because rtl8187 wireless module I created a configuration file called "default" with the following content:

Cod:

##########################################################
#Default method to power down the system when hibernating.
# If commented out, the system will use the kernel default as a 
# default value.
#
# Check /sys/power/disk for valid values.  The default value
# will be surrounded by [square brackets].
# HIBERNATE_MODE="shutdown"

# Whether we need to post the video card when resuming from
# hibernate. You should not normally need to set this.  
# In the future pm-utils will get this setting from HAL.
#
# Valid values are "no" and "yes"
 HIBERNATE_RESUME_POST_VIDEO="yes"

# The default sleep/wake system to use.  Valid values are:
#   kernel    The built-in kernel suspend/resume support.
#             Use this if nothing else is supported on your system.
#   uswsusp   If your system has support for the userspace
#             suspend programs (s2ram/s2disk/s2both), then use this.
#   tuxonice  If your system has support for tuxonice, use this.
#
# The system defaults to "kernel" if this is commented out.
# SLEEP_MODULE="kernel"

# These variables will be handled specially when we load files in 
# /etc/pm/config.d.
# Multiple declarations of these environment variables will result in 
# their contents being concatenated instead of being overwritten.

# If you need to unload any modules to suspend/resume, add them here.
 SUSPEND_MODULES="rtl8187"

# If you want to keep hooks from running, add their names  here.
# HOOK_BLACKLIST=""

# If you want to unconditionally add parameters to the commandline,
# add them here.
# ADD_PARAMETERS=""

# If you want to ignore commandline parameters, add them here.
# DROP_PARAMETERS=""

# If you need to synchronize the system clock across a suspend/resume or
# hibernate/thaw cycle, set this variable.
# NEED_CLOCK_SYNC="true"

That file I put it in / etc / pm / conf.d (do not know where I learned that)
- Because it could not "wake up / resume" suspend the laptop, I changed file / usr/share/hal/fdi/information/10freedesktop/20-video-quirk-pm-toshiba.fdi  with now the following content:

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="ISO-8859-1"?> <!-- -*- SGML -*- -->
<deviceinfo version="0.2">
  <device>
    <match key="system.hardware.vendor" string="TOSHIBA">
      <!-- Satellite Laptops -->
  <!-- L300 -->
      <match key="system.hardware.product" string="Satellite L300">
        <match key="system.hardware.version" string="PSLBGE-00500FR3">
          <merge key="power_management.quirk.s3_mode" type="bool">true</merge>
          <merge key="power_management.quirk.vbe_post" type="bool">true</merge>
        </match>
      </match>

    </match>
  </device>
</deviceinfo>

(take a look in origial file and make a backup of that too)
I also copied the file 20-video-quirk-pm-toshiba.fdi in / etc / hal / fdi / information.
- If you do not go conbinatia fn + f3 (suspend to ram) you create a combination of keys that execute the command $ sudo (or gksudo if you must enter the user password) pm-suspend or utility to suspend use of gnome or kde you have.
Thanks again for the link omnibook (could install / Upload omnibook module but I was not available)
Regarding the battery, I hope you powertop installed if not install powertop $ sudo (I think that has in ubuntu repo), then the console after you unplug the cable running $ sudo powertop and smecheresti there something (off usb, cdrom, etc.).
I use two scripts that you keep in a bin folder in my home and they run when you connect / disconnect cable (I even created two combined key to execute the two scripts):
a script that I called battery which has the following content:

 echo 5 > /proc/sys/vm/laptop_mode &
  echo 0 > /proc/sys/kernel/nmi_watchdog &
  echo 1 > /sys/devices/system/cpu/sched_mc_power_savings &
  echo ondemand > /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/scaling_governor &
  echo 1500 > /proc/sys/vm/dirty_writeback_centisecs &
  for i in /sys/bus/usb/devices/*/power/autosuspend; do echo 1 > $i; done &
  echo min_power > /sys/class/scsi_host/host0/link_power_management_policy &
  hal-disable-polling --device /dev/dvd &
  xbacklight -set 10 &
  xrandr --output TMDS-1 --off &
  xrandr --output VGA --off &
  rmmod uhci_hcd &
  ethtool -s eth0 wol d &

- Other script I called supply with following content:

#!/bin/bash
  hal-disable-polling --enable-polling --device /dev/dvd & # or whatever your CD drive is
  xbacklight -set 100 &
  xrandr --output TMDS-1 --auto &
  xrandr --output VGA --auto &
  modprobe uhci_hcd &
  ethtool -s eth0 wol g &
  echo 0 > /proc/sys/vm/laptop_mode &
  echo 10 > /proc/sys/vm/dirty_ratio &
  echo 5 > /proc/sys/vm/dirty_background_ratio &
  echo 500 > /proc/sys/vm/dirty_writeback_centisecs &
  echo max_performance > /sys/class/scsi_host/host0/link_power_management_policy &

Both scripts must to be executable (with the command $ sudo chmod + x / path / to_script)
God luck!

Last edited by mits (2009-06-11 17:45:49)

Offline

#4 2009-06-13 10:21:32

mits
Member
From: Bucharest/Romania
Registered: 2008-01-10
Posts: 129

Re: Toshiba L300-1AS ACPI problems!

Actually for me the problem is solved with option acpi_osi="Linux" added in /boot/grub/menu.lst

kernel /boot/vmlinuz26 root=/dev/disk/by-uuid/274eedeb-4129-4839-902a-69585c93fb4e vga=792 ro acpi_osi="Linux"

Variant with omnibook module and module settings shown above creates another problem: the system starts itself in a few minutes after I shut down.
The only problem with acpi_osi variant is that fn+fx keys do not work.

Last edited by mits (2009-06-13 10:23:03)

Offline

#5 2009-06-14 20:36:38

lukrop
Member
From: /at/vienna
Registered: 2008-01-30
Posts: 27
Website

Re: Toshiba L300-1AS ACPI problems!

mits wrote:

The only problem with acpi_osi variant is that fn+fx keys do not work.

Well, what does work exactly then? Is the AC-adpater problem solved?

Offline

#6 2009-06-15 14:23:26

mits
Member
From: Bucharest/Romania
Registered: 2008-01-10
Posts: 129

Re: Toshiba L300-1AS ACPI problems!

With acpi_osi="linux in kernel line of /boot/grub/menu.lst, plug/unplug of AC adapter is detected and kde/gnome powermanagement is solved (automaticaly change of power profile and brightness when plug/unplug AC cable)
Fn keys don't work but I replaced that other keys combination in kde4 systemsettings.
For example for decrease of monitor brightness i make it with command xbacklight -dec 20 attached to LeftWin + F6 key combination and for increase of brightness i use command xbacklight -inc 20 attached to LeftWin+f7 key combination.

Last edited by mits (2009-06-15 14:28:42)

Offline

#7 2009-07-10 18:29:09

lukrop
Member
From: /at/vienna
Registered: 2008-01-30
Posts: 27
Website

Re: Toshiba L300-1AS ACPI problems!

Sadly, here on my L300D the acpi_osi kernel parameter isn't working. I tried with acpi_osi="linux" and acpi_osi="Linux" none is working.

Offline

#8 2009-07-13 16:26:19

mits
Member
From: Bucharest/Romania
Registered: 2008-01-10
Posts: 129

Re: Toshiba L300-1AS ACPI problems!

Did you try variant with omnibook module (without acpi_osi="Linux"?
What power manager did you use?

Offline

#9 2010-02-25 18:36:37

ArchSoarer
Member
From: Cho-fu-sa
Registered: 2009-11-02
Posts: 23

Re: Toshiba L300-1AS ACPI problems!

mits wrote:

Actually for me the problem is solved with option acpi_osi="Linux" added in /boot/grub/menu.lst

kernel /boot/vmlinuz26 root=/dev/disk/by-uuid/274eedeb-4129-4839-902a-69585c93fb4e vga=792 ro acpi_osi="Linux"

Variant with omnibook module and module settings shown above creates another problem: the system starts itself in a few minutes after I shut down.
The only problem with acpi_osi variant is that fn+fx keys do not work.

I can report that in a Toshiba Satellite Pro L300D that fix only works on AC Power, but if I start my laptop on battery, the fan problem is the same: fan is activated on 75 C at full speed and only stops or down speed after reboot or shutdown sad.

lukrop wrote:

Sadly, here on my L300D the acpi_osi kernel parameter isn't working. I tried with acpi_osi="linux" and acpi_osi="Linux" none is working.

If it's gonna work you'll have to use acpi_osi="Linux", but as I said, only works for me on AC power. Is it the same for you? Have you tried the omnibook fix?

Last edited by ArchSoarer (2010-02-25 18:39:51)

Offline

#10 2010-03-19 21:59:24

mits
Member
From: Bucharest/Romania
Registered: 2008-01-10
Posts: 129

Re: Toshiba L300-1AS ACPI problems!

Sorry! I sell my Toshiba to my sister in law.
Now I have a Dell studio 1555 wich work almost perfect with Archlinux (kernel 2.6.31).
With omnibook fix Toshiba L300 is starting alone when is turn of.

Last edited by mits (2010-03-19 22:00:42)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB