You are not logged in.

#1 2009-04-20 10:20:06

teepee47

[Solved] Sound issues (alsa)

Hi!

Ok so the situation is I'm a huge noob at linux sound stuff. Essentially I had sound that worked perfectly but then I went and tried to get my PCI sound card working (instead of sticking with onboard sound card....I'm pretty sure the PCI sound card doesnt have drivers at the moment). I ended up screwing the sound up in that it wasn't able to play sound from multiple apps at once. Upon attempting to fix this it broke even more. Someone on IRC told me to setup pulse audio instead of dmix so I tried this and i think I've destroyed it even more now. Essentially I'm pretty sure my sound is an absolute mess and I dont know where to go from here.

At the moment I can get mpd working and flash (eg youtube) working but not at the same time. If i try playing something in mplayer I get the errors including: '[JACK] cannot open server' and 'DVB card must be between 1 and 4'. Alsamixer returns the error

ALSA lib control.c:874:(snd_ctl_open_conf) Cannot open shared library /usr/lib/alsa-lib/libasound_module_ctl_pulse.so

alsamixer: function snd_ctl_open failed for default: No such file or directory

I think this is because I uninstalled pulseaudio. Before I uninstalled pulseaudio however, alsamixer showed a single master channel which didn't affect audio when I changed its volume.

Here is the output of lsmod|grep '^snd'

snd_pcsp                9164  0 
snd_seq_oss            29888  0 
snd_seq_midi_event      5972  1 snd_seq_oss
snd_seq                48176  4 snd_seq_oss,snd_seq_midi_event
snd_seq_device          6080  2 snd_seq_oss,snd_seq
snd_hda_codec_realtek   189784  1 
snd_hda_intel          25384  1 
snd_hda_codec          60340  2 snd_hda_codec_realtek,snd_hda_intel
snd_pcm                67992  4 snd_pcsp,snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_codec
snd_timer              19260  2 snd_seq,snd_pcm
snd_page_alloc          8092  2 snd_hda_intel,snd_pcm