You are not logged in.

#1 2009-05-01 22:12:15

BoppreH

Poor performance and overheat

Story
I've been using arch for the past four months, dual booting with my old Windows XP. As I'm very fond of Flash games and make my own programs with a cross-platform language, I've found few problems with the migration. One of them was the Adobe Flash Player performance, which was stunningly bad. But everyone was saying that was normal, so I left it as is.

However, one special error always worried me: a seemingly randomly started siren sound coming from the motherboard speaker. Thinking it was a alarm about some fatal kernel error, I had been solving it mostly with reboots.

But then it happened. While playing a graphics intensive game on Windows quickly after rebooting from Arch, the same siren sound started. It felt like a slap across the face: it was not a kernel error, it was an motherboard overheat alarm.

The Problem
Since the computer was giving overheat signs, I started looking at things from another angle. I noticed that some tasks take unusually long times in Arch (i.e.: building things from source; Firefox / OpenOffice startup; any graphics intensive program), specially from the Flash Player.

A great example is the game Penguinz, that runs flawlessly in Windows but is unbearably slow in Arch. So slow that it alone caused said overheat twice. And trying to record another flash game's record using XVidCap things went so bad that the game halved the FPS and started ignoring key presses.

Tech Info
Dual Core 3.2 processor
1 gb RAM
256 mb Geforce FX 5500 video card

Running Openbox
Using proprietary NVIDIA driver

TL;DR: poor performance on some tasks. Flash Player is so slow that overheats CPU and makes me cry. It's fine on Windows.

Off the top of my head I can think up some reasons: bad video driver, unwanted background application messing up, known Flash Player performance problems and Actionscript Linux/Arch-only bug.
Where do you think is the problem?