You are not logged in.

#1 2009-05-16 02:45:48

lolilolicon

wmii, programs at launch with predefined layout

Hi, I'm new to tiling WMs, and by now I've tried my second, wmii 3.6-1.

I like the way wmii looks.the label bar/status bar with customizable colors.The status bar, especially, you can define as many sections as you wish, just create them down /rbar/. With "echo $xxCOLORS | wmiir create /rbar/xxbar", you can have sections with different background colors in your status bar.
And the stack mode of wmii brings quite some convenience.
OK, let me talk about what pisses me off a little. I just don't understand, why, why is the deference between column and row? I mean horizonal split and vertical split are treated differently in wmii.
I find one may-be-good-for-someone thing it brings: Maximized mode just maximizes window to this column, while only fullscreen mode maximizes it to fullscreen.But, it brings shit here in fullscreen mode: press Modkey+f,it goes fullscreen; press Modkey+f again, you don't come back! my terminals are messed up.
I'm using bash in my wmiirc config file.I just don't know ruby, or lua and stuff, and don't think using bash wouldn't do it.Anyway, I am asking for just something really simple! I'm trying to get three urxvts started at wmii startup, with a predefined layout: two columns, the left split into two parts, one taking 70% the other 30%. what I've achieved now is: two columns, the left split into two parts,each taking 50%.And I achieved it in a stupid way.I added in wmiirc:

# Programs at launch
eval $WMII_TERM &
eval $WMII_TERM &
eval $WMII_TERM &
### wait... :-\
sleep 2 
#send the selected window to right column
echo send sel right | wmiir write /tag/sel/ctl
#focus to column 1 window 1
echo select 1 1 | wmiir write /tag/sel/ctl

sleep 2 to make sure all three terms have appeared. Which mean extra 2 seconds delay of startup.