You are not logged in.

#1 2009-05-17 16:57:25

Admiral Yi

Setting up internet connection

Hello,
Im new to arch, but not to linux. I've been using Ubuntu for about 4 months now, and after a lot of tinkering i'd consider myself a fairly skilled user. I started using Arch so I could learn a bit more about how the OS works, but i've hit a brick wall. Whenever I try a 'pacman -S <insert package name here>' command, all I get is a message saying the package could not be found in the repos. I suspect this is due to my failure to st up an internet connecting in the installation stage. I left all of the config files alone in the install process (apart from changing a few grub things, which barely counts). Could some one show me a guide or talk be through a way to get the internet workng? Or if its not the internet causing this issue, what am I doing wrong?

Sorry if this a stupid question, but i'd really like to get this working so I can get a desktop wink.

#2 2009-05-17 17:04:06

kumyco
Website

Re: Setting up internet connection

http://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Pacman and http://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Configuring_network
it sounds more like you haven't got the proper repo setup .. and/or the package (by that name) really doesn't exist
to search use pacman -Ss , don't forget to do a pacman -Sy and/or pacman -Syu to upgrade the system once your network is up
if you still have issues, as a general tip. post error message(copy/paste)

#3 2009-05-17 17:07:29

Berticus

kumyco is correct. You want to

# pacman -Sy

Possibly update (add the u flag) if you installed from CD/USB instead of FTP.

#4 2009-05-17 17:15:19

Admiral Yi

Ah! Thanks for the prompt replys. I have never used the 'pacman -Sy' command, that must be the problem. Thanks again.

#5 2009-05-18 06:21:01

Admiral Yi

Just tried this out this morning, and it didn't work. When I run 'pacman -Sy' I get a long line of errors:

error: failed retrieving file community.db.tar.gc from (mirror)