You are not logged in.

#1 2009-06-01 19:04:56

shawn1988
Member
Registered: 2009-06-01
Posts: 4

xmonad / gnome

How to make the xmonad run with gnome?
I put the code from
http://www.haskell.org/haskellwiki/Xmon … ntegration
in my xmonad.hs. But it cannot work.
Is there someone can help me with this?
Thank you in advance!

Last edited by shawn1988 (2009-06-02 14:46:42)

Offline

#2 2009-06-02 01:27:43

Mr.Elendig
#archlinux@freenode channel op
From: The intertubes
Registered: 2004-11-07
Posts: 4,092

Re: xmonad / gnome

1. Sure your keyboard are configured correctly?

2. Don't try to pacman -U the source code, the package file is named $arch.pkg.tar.gz

3. Why are you trying to rebuild it in the first place?

4. Do you have a xmonad.hs? If so, paste it here in code tags.

yay, the op changed his first post into something compleatly different, so no my reply looks totaly unrelated hmm

Last edited by Mr.Elendig (2009-06-02 15:06:44)


Evil #archlinux@libera.chat channel op and general support dude.
. files on github, Screenshots, Random pics and the rest

Offline

#3 2009-06-02 14:38:58

shawn1988
Member
Registered: 2009-06-01
Posts: 4

Re: xmonad / gnome

Sorry about this... my keyboard configured is not right... so I cannot start the xmonad.
Now I try to run xmonad under gnome, but why it not work. It did not give me an error message. The screen configure is not right.
I put the code below in my xmonad.hs.

import XMonad
import XMonad.Config.Gnome

main = xmonad gnomeConfig

not found errors or changes to xmonad.hs won't take effect . 
I used "ghc-pkg list" and "ghc-pkg check", and I got the things below. How can I fix these things and make the xmonad run under gnome? Thank you in advance!

/usr/lib/ghc-6.10.3/./package.conf:
    Cabal-1.6.0.3, HUnit-1.2.0.3, QuickCheck-1.2.0.0, X11-1.4.5,
    X11-xft-0.3, array-0.2.0.0, base-3.0.3.1, base-4.1.0.0,
    bytestring-0.9.1.4, containers-0.2.0.1, directory-1.0.0.3,
    (dph-base-0.3), (dph-par-0.3), (dph-prim-interface-0.3),
    (dph-prim-par-0.3), (dph-prim-seq-0.3), (dph-seq-0.3),
    extensible-exceptions-0.1.1.0, filepath-1.1.0.2, (ghc-6.10.3),
    ghc-prim-0.1.0.0, haddock-2.4.2, haskell-src-1.0.1.3,
    haskell98-1.0.1.0, hinotify-0.2, hpc-0.5.0.3, html-1.0.1.2,
    integer-0.1.0.1, mtl-1.1.0.2, network-2.2.1, old-locale-1.0.0.1,
    old-time-1.0.0.2, packedstring-0.1.0.1, parallel-1.1.0.1,
    parsec-2.1.0.1, pretty-1.0.1.0, process-1.0.1.1, random-1.0.0.1,
    regex-base-0.72.0.2, regex-compat-0.71.0.1, regex-posix-0.72.0.3,
    rts-1.0, stm-2.1.1.2, syb-0.1.0.1, template-haskell-2.3.0.1,
    time-1.1.3, unix-2.3.2.0, utf8-string-0.3.4, xhtml-3000.2.0.1

There are problems in package rts-1.0:
  include-dirs: PAPI_INCLUDE_DIR doesn't exist or isn't a directory

The following packages are broken, either because they have a problem
listed above, or because they depend on a broken package.
rts-1.0
haddock-2.4.2
ghc-6.10.3
ghc-prim-0.1.0.0
integer-0.1.0.1
base-4.1.0.0
syb-0.1.0.1
base-3.0.3.1
array-0.2.0.0
packedstring-0.1.0.1
containers-0.2.0.1
bytestring-0.9.1.4
old-locale-1.0.0.1
old-time-1.0.0.2
filepath-1.1.0.2
unix-2.3.2.0
directory-1.0.0.3
process-1.0.1.1
pretty-1.0.1.0
hpc-0.5.0.3
template-haskell-2.3.0.1
Cabal-1.6.0.3
random-1.0.0.1
haskell98-1.0.1.0
extensible-exceptions-0.1.1.0
regex-base-0.72.0.2
regex-posix-0.72.0.3
regex-compat-0.71.0.1
parsec-2.1.0.1
haskell-src-1.0.1.3
html-1.0.1.2
network-2.2.1
QuickCheck-1.2.0.0
HUnit-1.2.0.3
mtl-1.1.0.2
time-1.1.3
stm-2.1.1.2
xhtml-3000.2.0.1
parallel-1.1.0.1
dph-base-0.3
dph-prim-interface-0.3
dph-prim-seq-0.3
dph-prim-par-0.3
dph-seq-0.3
dph-par-0.3
utf8-string-0.3.4
hinotify-0.2
X11-xft-0.3
X11-1.4.5

Offline

#4 2009-06-03 15:33:34

eol
Member
Registered: 2009-05-30
Posts: 23

Re: xmonad / gnome

Are you sure that the window manager you were running with gnome isn't running anymore.
You can't actually have two wm running at the same time.
if you use metacity, try

killall metacity && xmonad

You can also have a look on this page, it was meant for xfce, but it gives certainly useful tips,
you just need to adapt it to your needs.

Offline

#5 2009-06-04 17:16:29

valadil
Member
Registered: 2009-06-04
Posts: 6

Re: xmonad / gnome

Instead of running xmonad within gnome, I run xmonad plus a few gnome components.  Just add gnome-session and gnome-panel to your .xsession and you should be all set.  Maybe add nautilus too if you like, but I didn't see the point as xmonad doesn't leave much screen space for the desktop.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB