You are not logged in.

#1 2009-06-04 19:00:04

kludge

Need Advice: Installing Encrypted Arch on Eee PC 1000HE

hey there, y'all,

i just ordered my 1000he yesterday, so i have a few days to figure out my partition scheme before my new baby arrives in the mail.

i'm a pretty confident and skilled archer, but--thanks to the beauty of arch--i haven't done a new install in nearly three years.  and because of the way i intend to use my netbook (roadwarrior stylin'), i'm going to have to do a few things i've never done before... and can't find cleanly documented.

i want to secure my data as thoroughly as practical, without going overboard or taking a huge performance hit.  i also *need* hibernate to function.  so here's my initial thinking on the partition scheme:

* physical partitions:

/dev/sda1 = /boot     /dev/sda2 = dm-luks crypted partition

* crypted partition:

LVM2 phys. volume = /, /home, /var, swap

the big question is what to do about /tmp.  should i:

1) map /tmp to its own lv, randomly encrypted at boot?
2) tmpfs at 512 MB.  is this big enough?  will 512 MB be too big a chunk of my 2 GB RAM?

the second question is what to do about swap.  i need it to be encrypted *and* persistent, so should i:

1) map it to an lv, so that it's encrypted at the block device level?
2) use a swap file in / ?
3) do without swap and use a hibernate file in / ?

also, is there anything i'm missing here?  any gotchas or obvious security holes?

thanks mucho.

edit: typos and clarity.

Last edited by kludge (2009-06-04 21:14:21)

[23:00:16]    dr_kludge | i want to invent an olfactory human-computer interface, integrate it into the web standards, then produce my own forked browser.
[23:00:32]    dr_kludge | can you guess what i'd call it?
[23:01:16]    dr_kludge | nosilla.
[23:01:32]    dr_kludge | i really should be going to bed.  i'm giggling madly about that.

#2 2009-06-04 20:22:04

.:B:.
Forum Fellow
Website

Re: Need Advice: Installing Encrypted Arch on Eee PC 1000HE