You are not logged in.

#1 2009-06-10 16:51:07

Mogger
Website

Use Git to manage dotfiles

:: Disclaimer
I found some topics about placing ~ under version control, but none of the threads were specifically about dotfiles.
I'm completely new to Git and version control in general.

:: Problem
I want to version control some configuration files (.bashrc, .vimrc etc.) in ~ using Git. My reasons for this are as follows:
- Easy to backup files and discard changes.
- Share and synchronize configuration files between computers. I want to allow local customizations, more on this later.

Sounds pretty reasonable? The question is, how do I accomplish this? I did a little research, hoping to find a good article that described everything. What I found was a lot of articles[0-5], each describing its own way of using Git for dotfiles.

:: Solution?
I want to find an easy and straightforward way, that still allows flexibility. After some reading, I've come to the following conclusions:
- Having one git repository directly in ~ isn't a good idea. It's better to have one repo for each group of related files (e.g. all vim configuration).
- Some put the files in ~/dotfiles/* and symlink them, often using a script. This sounds rather complicated to me.
- There are already some scripts to handle everything: git-home and git-home-history. However, these seem to handle the whole ~, not specific dotfiles.
- My plan is to have a master branch where the common configuration are stored, and one branch for each computer for local customizations. (I haven't worked with branches before, but this is a pretty good opportunity to learn how, right?).

I like the sound of detached worktrees[5], but while it doesn't use symbolic links, it requires custom tools (scripts/mr tool). Maybe it's easier to go with the symbolic linking approach?

> Which method do you like the most, and are there any common pitfalls to look out for?

-
[0] http://psung.blogspot.com/2007/11/versi … emote.html