You are not logged in.

#1 2009-06-23 14:22:29

Fludae

Wireless not working after initial pacman upgrade on a fresh install.

Helloooo. I've used Ubuntu for awhile, decided to try out Arch Linux since it seemed like an interesting distro from what I've read. Anyways, I downloaded the core 64bit iso, burnt and installed it, and then spent awhile trying to get my Dell WLAN 1395 (Broadcom 4312) wireless card working so I could upgrade my system for the first time using pacman (I live in a suite with wireless shared between different homes, a wired connection isn't an option for me). I used the Broadcom Linux drivers after reading the page on the wiki and used the wireless setup guide + broadcom readme to get wireless up and running. Edited my /etc/rc.conf to load ieee80211_crypt_tkip & wl.ko and also connect to my wireless when I boot. And off I go.

I'm following the beginners guide on the wiki since I'm a noob with this stuff, so I used the python script to rank mirrors and then ran pacman -Syu. Everything successfully downloads and installs, I reboot, and poof. Wireless is not working. At all. 

I googled for information on Broadcom 4312 cards, kernel 2.6.29, etc. and I didn't come up with much except that quite a few people are having problems with broadcom cards on 2.6.29 - and thats it. I couldn't even find a hint of a solution, only that people are sticking with kernel 2.6.28 until this stuff is figured out.

So my question is: Is there a way for me to get wireless working on kernel 2.6.29 with a Broadcom 4312 card? Should I wipe Arch Linux, reinstall, and just not upgrade the kernel? Is there a way to revert back to kernel 2.6.28 without reinstalling?

Thanks.

#2 2009-06-23 14:36:09

bgc1954

Re: Wireless not working after initial pacman upgrade on a fresh install.