You are not logged in.

#1 2009-06-25 00:34:33

omega02

noob at archlinux --- PlayonLinux problem (help me!!!)

Hey guys, i just joined today, as u can see im a noob at archlinux... I have just downloaded PlayonLinux and i wanna play a game called ragnarok online... I have the windows installer but i don't get how to use PlayonLinux. Ok heres what i did. I opened PlayonLinux, Pressed the install button. went to games tab thing in the install button i pressed. looked for the game (ragnarok online) i clicked on the game and then i clicked apply. Now a new window popped up and so i press forward took only a second just to finish downloading..... (wierd) anyways it shows 2 check squares.

1 says On your desktop
2 says In your menu

this is for shortcuts, anyways i clicked the in your menu check and then pressed forward. Now it says "Installation terminee" does this mean it has been terminated?

If so Please help!

If not, how do u install the game from the installer?? I mean not from PlayonLinux but on the real thing.
(the windows ragnarok installer)

Please help and no i am not using Ubuntu. Just plain o'l Arch linux!

#2 2009-06-25 00:56:34

Xyne
Administrator/PM
Website

Re: noob at archlinux --- PlayonLinux problem (help me!!!)

Hi omega02, welcome to Arch and to the forum.

How did you install PlayonLinux? If you didn't install it from the AUR (http://aur.archlinux.org/packages.php?ID=14986) then you should uninstall the one on your system now and re-install it from there. This will make sure that you have the dependencies to run it and allow pacman to keep track of it. The basic rule of installation on Arch is to never install anything without pacman. There's nearly never any real reason not to use pacman. You can find information on how to build packages from the AUR with makepkg in the wiki.

You should probably also read up on Wine if you want to run Windows apps:
http://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Wine