You are not logged in.

#1 2009-06-29 18:02:04

sbogde

php/mysq programmer moving to linux?

Hi,

I am a php/mysq programmer & I'd like to completely get rid of windows and switch to linux.

I am mainly using these:
- zend dev environment/php editor
- browsers: ie, ff, safari
- a web localhost - apache, php, mysql
- sometimes adobe photoshop - screenshots, basic image manipulation

considering all these what linux distribution do you think I should use?

are there any php/mysql programmers that work in linux only?

I am really looking forward to hearing from you guys.

thank you.

#2 2009-06-29 18:18:34

marxav

Re: php/mysq programmer moving to linux?

If you are not afraid of command prompt, you will certainly enjoy.  If you are not familiar with linux, learning curve may be sharp.  If you have installed Arch arleady, you can get started with what you want to very easily.  You should check the wiki for stuff like LAMP (http://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/LAMP).  I switched to Linux in 2002 and no regret whatsoever.  My main reason for switching was actually because I wanted to do some programming and networking stuff.

#3 2009-06-29 18:30:07

Ranguvar

sbogde wrote:

- zend dev environment/php editor

Emacs, Vim, Eclipse (different plugins), and Netbeans are all possible replacements. Zend appears to work with Linux, but I wouldn't know how to get it working in Arch.

sbogde wrote:

- browsers: ie, ff, safari

Firefox works in GNU/Linux, IE and Safari you will need Wine for (Windows Safari in Wine) or virtual machines.

sbogde wrote:

- a web localhost - apache, php, mysql

All good.

sbogde wrote:

- sometimes adobe photoshop - screenshots, basic image manipulation

Photoshop works in Wine, with less compatibility as you go from CS1 up to CS4 (though the latter will still work, mostly). For your purposes, it sounds as though the GIMP or a derivative would do fine.

sbogde wrote:

considering all these what linux distribution do you think I should use?