You are not logged in.

#1 2009-07-05 14:30:11

Kardell
Member
From: London a new Babylon
Registered: 2007-02-20
Posts: 225

Locale problem

I'm getting this error:

/bin/sh: warning: setlocale: LC_ALL: cannot change locale (pl_PL)

locale-gen

#or_IN  UTF-8
#pa_IN  UTF-8
#pa_PK  UTF-8
pl_PL.UTF-8     UTF-8
#pl_PL  ISO-8859-2
#pt_BR.UTF-8    UTF-8
#pt_BR  ISO-8859-1
root /#  cat /etc/profile
#
# /etc/profile
#

# Polonizacja systemu
export LC_ALL="pl_PL"
export LANG="pl_PL"

export PATH="/bin:/usr/bin:/sbin:/usr/sbin:/usr/X11R6/bin:/opt/bin"

export MANPATH="/usr/man:/usr/X11R6/man"
export LESSCHARSET="latin1"
export INPUTRC="/etc/inputrc"
export LESS="-R"

export LC_COLLATE="C"

export COLUMNS LINES

export PS1='[\u@\h \W]\$ '
export PS2='> '

umask 022

if [ "$TERM" = "xterm" -o "$TERM" = "xterm-color" -o "$TERM" = "rxvt" -o "$TERM" = "xterm-xfree86" ]; then
  PROMPT_COMMAND='echo -ne "\033]0;${USER}@${HOSTNAME%%.*}:${PWD/$HOME/~}\007"'
fi

# load profiles from /etc/profile.d
#  (to disable a profile, just remove execute permission on it)
if [ `ls -A1 /etc/profile.d/ | wc -l` -gt 0 ]; then
  for profile in /etc/profile.d/*.sh; do
    if [ -x $profile ]; then
      . $profile
    fi
  done
  unset profile
fi

# aktywacja autouzupelniania
[ -f /etc/bash_completion ] && [ 0 -ge $(complete|wc -l) ] && . /etc/bash_completion

# Aliasy
alias pac="pacman"
alias ls="ls -l"
alias pacu="pacman -Syu"
alias pacs="pacman -Ss"

# colorized pacman output with pacs alias:
alias pacs="pacsearch"
pacsearch () {
               echo -e "$(pacman -Ss $@ | sed \
                             -e 's#core/.*#\\033[1;31m&\\033[0;37m#g' \
                                                  -e 's#extra/.*#\\033[0;32m&\\033[0;37m#g' \
                                                                              -e 's#community/.*#\\033[1;35m&\\033[0;37m#g' \
                                                                                                                 -e 's#^.*/.* [0-9].*#\\033[0;36m&\\033[0;37m#g' )"
                                                                                                                                                    }
# End of file

I get this after recent update.

Last edited by Kardell (2009-07-05 14:36:12)


"Those who don't know history are doomed to repeat it." Edmund Burke

Offline

#2 2009-07-05 14:47:01

arkham
Member
From: Stockholm
Registered: 2008-10-26
Posts: 516
Website

Re: Locale problem

1) Try pl_PL.UTF8
2) Set LOCALE in /etc/rc.conf

Last edited by arkham (2009-07-05 14:47:54)


"I'm Winston Wolfe. I solve problems."

~ Need moar games? [arch-games] ~ [aurcheck] AUR haz updates? ~

Offline

#3 2009-07-05 16:15:37

Kardell
Member
From: London a new Babylon
Registered: 2007-02-20
Posts: 225

Re: Locale problem

It is.
This error appears almost everytime.
New OSS does not work, becuase he cannot compile itself with this warning.

I set rc.conf according to polish arch wiki - same thing.

Another thing is that after major system update only Firefox and Thunderbird cannot connect to Internet.  hmm
I think some new packages during installation were disabled, because of this error.

Last edited by Kardell (2009-07-05 16:51:22)


"Those who don't know history are doomed to repeat it." Edmund Burke

Offline

#4 2009-07-05 17:25:33

arkham
Member
From: Stockholm
Registered: 2008-10-26
Posts: 516
Website

Re: Locale problem

I meant try with

export LC_ALL="pl_PL.UTF8"
export LANG="pl_PL.UTF8"


"I'm Winston Wolfe. I solve problems."

~ Need moar games? [arch-games] ~ [aurcheck] AUR haz updates? ~

Offline

#5 2009-07-05 18:05:43

broch
Banned
From: L.A. California
Registered: 2006-11-13
Posts: 975

Re: Locale problem

locale is broken so adding

export LC_ALL="pl_PL.UTF8"
export LANG="pl_PL.UTF8"

will not help

Offline

#6 2009-07-28 00:06:56

TheRealHoboBen
Member
Registered: 2008-12-02
Posts: 11

Re: Locale problem

Bump, I've been having the same problems with

"/bin/sh: warning: setlocale: LC_ALL: cannot change locale (en_GB.utf8)"

/etc/rc.conf contains:
LOCALE="en_GB.utf8"

[ben@ArchInspiron ~]$ locale
locale: Cannot set LC_CTYPE to default locale: No such file or directory
locale: Cannot set LC_MESSAGES to default locale: No such file or directory
locale: Cannot set LC_ALL to default locale: No such file or directory
LANG=en_GB.utf8
LC_CTYPE="en_GB.utf8"
LC_NUMERIC="en_GB.utf8"
LC_TIME="en_GB.utf8"
LC_COLLATE=C
LC_MONETARY="en_GB.utf8"
LC_MESSAGES="en_GB.utf8"
LC_PAPER="en_GB.utf8"
LC_NAME="en_GB.utf8"
LC_ADDRESS="en_GB.utf8"
LC_TELEPHONE="en_GB.utf8"
LC_MEASUREMENT="en_GB.utf8"
LC_IDENTIFICATION="en_GB.utf8"
LC_ALL=

Is this the same problem or should I start a new thread?

Offline

#7 2009-07-28 09:19:18

quarkup
Member
From: Portugal
Registered: 2008-09-07
Posts: 497
Website

Re: Locale problem

have you followed the wiki?

http://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Locale


the locale-command should do it (after editing the file)


If people do not believe that mathematics is simple, it is only because they do not realize how complicated life is.
Simplicity is the ultimate sophistication.

Offline

#8 2009-07-28 22:44:58

TheRealHoboBen
Member
Registered: 2008-12-02
Posts: 11

Re: Locale problem

I've solved my issue -  I needed to go to /etc/locale.gen and uncomment my locale, like the wiki said. Then run "sudo locale-gen"

This only started happening after a recent pacman upgrade, so I assumed I had all of the locale settings already set up.

Thanks.

Offline

#9 2009-07-28 23:03:35

lamberss
Member
Registered: 2009-04-11
Posts: 10

Re: Locale problem

Glad you could solve your problem.

It's tradition here to edit your inital post and add "SOLVED" somewhere in the topic so that people know you're issue is resolved without having to read the whole thread. big_smile

Last edited by lamberss (2009-07-28 23:06:34)

Offline

#10 2009-07-30 00:46:53

TheRealHoboBen
Member
Registered: 2008-12-02
Posts: 11

Re: Locale problem

Sorry for the confusion, but I'm not OP. I just had a similar problem - hopefully the fix works for him/her too.

Offline

#11 2009-08-01 12:01:05

empty_bucket
Member
Registered: 2009-08-01
Posts: 3

Re: Locale problem

edit: my problem seems to be different, so I moved it to another topic

Last edited by empty_bucket (2009-08-02 17:53:19)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB