You are not logged in.

#1 2009-07-10 15:29:22

pythonscript

Prep to transition from ubuntu to arch

I've been using ubuntu for several months now, and I'm eagerly looking forward to switching to arch. Do the majority of apps that run on ubuntu run under arch as well? I know openoffice does, but I'm mainly wondering about development apps (codeblocks, eclipse with most of its plugins, python's idle, scite, netbeans, stuff like that). That's the main thing I use my laptop for, so I'm hoping all that stuff runs pretty well and installs pretty easy from pacman. Thanks for the help!

Lenovo SL510 Thinkpad / Asus EEEPC 1005HA
No hables a menos que puedas mejorar el silencio. - Neruda
La sabiduría nos llega cuando ya no nos sirve de nada. - Márquez

#2 2009-07-10 15:39:16

hardly

Re: Prep to transition from ubuntu to arch

Just about everything that works in Ubuntu should work in Arch. If it doesn't run or isn't there, there's probably a fix or you could compile it from source. 
Be prepared to deal with a whole host of new problems though. And get used to no X. That's the main problem with Arch that I've had. I've been using the x86_64 version. It feels a whole lot more stable than Ubuntu 64-bit. Which is why I'm slowly and continuously migrating away from Ubuntu.

#3 2009-07-10 15:43:07

djszapi
Website

Hello pythonscript!

First of all:
http://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Arc … er_Distros

But if a package isn't available now on arch, you can upload a PKGBUILD to AUR, it's similar like in gentoo overlays.

Don't think it will be easy after Ubuntu first time, but it will be more usefull i think.

Don't hesitate, just change tongue

#4 2009-07-10 16:42:44

pythonscript