You are not logged in.

#126 2009-10-27 20:16:33

syms
Member
Registered: 2008-12-25
Posts: 296

Re: kde-snapshot repo

ProgDan wrote:

I'm sorry to hear that , but there's nothing I could do. Also, the very first post in this topic encourages you to backup your ~/.kde4. And when playing with unstable stuff, I'd rather backup anything (especially when I know I built it myself :-) ).
Without more details, I will hardly ever find what is the reason for such behavior. It is possible there was still something left from my repo which has caused some incompatibility (libraries...?).
I'll try to make some time and test it, try to reproduce your problem. Once more, I'm sorry for that.

You get this when you play with unstable software. Anyway, that wasnt my configuration foult. I created new user with new configs, but the problem persisted. Also ive checked pacman -Qs for your packages, but none have left, and the problem persisted. Reinstalling, checking for conflicting packages or using new config didnt help. So thats why formatting hard drive and installing fresh arch linux was the only way. But now ive switched to 64 bit version and everythings a bit faster, so reinstalling was worth smile , and this means that you helped me to discover power of 64 bits big_smile
P.S im quite impressed of your politeness smile

Last edited by syms (2009-10-27 20:42:27)

Offline

#127 2009-10-27 20:36:32

venky80
Member
Registered: 2007-05-13
Posts: 1,002

Re: kde-snapshot repo

ProgDan wrote:

I'm sorry to hear that , but there's nothing I could do. Also, the very first post in this topic encourages you to backup your ~/.kde4. And when playing with unstable stuff, I'd rather backup anything (especially when I know I built it myself :-) ).
Without more details, I will hardly ever find what is the reason for such behavior. It is possible there was still something left from my repo which has caused some incompatibility (libraries...?).
I'll try to make some time and test it, try to reproduce your problem. Once more, I'm sorry for that.

Cheers for your politeness man!.

THIS IS UNSTABLE SOFTWARE BEWARE! it is not ProgDan's fault if your data/config gets hosed!


Acer Aspire V5-573P Antergos KDE

Offline

#128 2009-10-27 21:00:56

ProgDan
Member
From: Teplice, Czech Republic
Registered: 2007-10-04
Posts: 441
Website

Re: kde-snapshot repo

@venky80: Don't be so sure about my innocence - if I built something, it's certain something will be broken big_smile

@Syms: Well, reproducing was delayed - I really can't do compiling and run a virtual machine at the same time :-) I did at least some googling (love this verb big_smile ) about performance regression and found big nothing. Maybe you would like to try our 64bit repo...there is still a lot to explore...:D

PS: ad politeness - big_smile what are you so stunned of guys ? big_smile

Last edited by ProgDan (2009-10-27 21:01:29)

Offline

#129 2009-10-27 21:16:05

deej
Member
Registered: 2008-02-08
Posts: 395

Re: kde-snapshot repo

Whoops...

error: failed retrieving file 'kdeaccessibility-kttsd-4.3.70svn1030554-1-x86_64.pkg.tar.gz' from repo.progdansoft.com : Not Found
error: failed retrieving file 'kdepim-runtime-4.3.72svn1034736-1-x86_64.pkg.tar.gz' from repo.progdansoft.com : Not Found
warning: failed to retrieve some files from kde-4.4-unstable
error: failed to commit transaction (Not Found)
Errors occurred, no packages were upgraded.

Deej

Offline

#130 2009-10-27 21:27:36

ProgDan
Member
From: Teplice, Czech Republic
Registered: 2007-10-04
Posts: 441
Website

Re: kde-snapshot repo

Old packages remained in database...fixed, thanks Deej.

Offline

#131 2009-10-27 21:43:48

deej
Member
Registered: 2008-02-08
Posts: 395

Re: kde-snapshot repo

All OK now - works well !

Deej

[EDIT]

This was the only message received:

/sbin/ldconfig: /usr/lib/libmessagecore.so.4 is not a symbolic link

This came up after everything was installed.

Last edited by deej (2009-10-28 06:30:42)

Offline

#132 2009-10-29 16:05:37

invisible_man
Member
Registered: 2009-10-12
Posts: 12

Re: kde-snapshot repo

Has anyone else had problems with kdm auto-login after update?

Offline

#133 2009-10-29 16:56:29

Solid1986Snake
Member
Registered: 2007-06-18
Posts: 258

Re: kde-snapshot repo

Hey Progdan,

want do yaou think of creating two new threads to get a little better overview?
I am thinking of a separate kde-4.4-unstable Announcements thread, which will contain warning, especially from you and a kde-4-4-unstable discussion thread... where we can talk over crashing appz etc..

Offline

#134 2009-10-29 19:17:14

Solid1986Snake
Member
Registered: 2007-06-18
Posts: 258

Re: kde-snapshot repo

invisible_man wrote:

Has anyone else had problems with kdm auto-login after update?

Just tested it, kdm crashes for me with autologin enabled...

Manually edited /usr/share/config/kdm/kdmrc

Offline

#135 2009-10-30 22:25:21

Azieth
Member
From: Bulgaria
Registered: 2009-07-08
Posts: 13

Re: kde-snapshot repo

@Solid1986Snake: Could you tell us how'd exactly you've got it working please? I still can't.

Offline

#136 2009-10-31 13:42:28

Solid1986Snake
Member
Registered: 2007-06-18
Posts: 258

Re: kde-snapshot repo

Search for this section in the named file:

[X-:0-Core]
AutoLoginEnable=false
AutoLoginLocked=false
AutoLoginUser=pschw
ClientLogFile=.xsession-errors

Change AutoLoginEnable from = true to false....

Offline

#137 2009-10-31 14:47:05

Azieth
Member
From: Bulgaria
Registered: 2009-07-08
Posts: 13

Re: kde-snapshot repo

Hm, mine is the same, but when I enter my username and acc ... boom! Kdm crashes and I'm again in tty1.

Offline

#138 2009-10-31 16:54:45

Solid1986Snake
Member
Registered: 2007-06-18
Posts: 258

Re: kde-snapshot repo

try to start kdm with "startx" you will get some debug output then...

Offline

#139 2009-11-02 09:50:14

finex
Member
Registered: 2009-11-02
Posts: 11

Re: kde-snapshot repo

invisible_man wrote:

Has anyone else had problems with kdm auto-login after update?

It looks a common problem: I've just experienced it using OpenSUSE 11.2 RC2 too. I've reported a bug report to kdm:  https://bugs.kde.org/show_bug.cgi?id=212715

Offline

#140 2009-11-02 11:12:31

sylvlinux
Member
Registered: 2009-11-02
Posts: 25

Re: kde-snapshot repo

hey,

Since I installed kde4.4, amarok ceases to operate if I hear a song and I have an amarok script that needs internet enabled.
In your opinion, what is the problem ?

ps : I'm french, sorry for my english

Offline

#141 2009-11-02 21:59:56

invisible_man
Member
Registered: 2009-10-12
Posts: 12

Re: kde-snapshot repo

sylvlinux wrote:

hey,

Since I installed kde4.4, amarok ceases to operate if I hear a song and I have an amarok script that needs internet enabled.
In your opinion, what is the problem ?

ps : I'm french, sorry for my english

would you happen to use the bespin theme?

Offline

#142 2009-11-02 22:22:36

sylvlinux
Member
Registered: 2009-11-02
Posts: 25

Re: kde-snapshot repo

no, i' m using the qtcurve theme:P

the crash report

maybe kdelibs-4.3.73svn1040395 is the issue.

Last edited by sylvlinux (2009-11-02 22:33:21)

Offline

#143 2009-11-02 22:37:46

pressh
Developer/TU
From: Netherlands
Registered: 2005-08-14
Posts: 1,719

Re: kde-snapshot repo

sylvlinux wrote:

maybe kdelibs-4.3.73svn1040395 is the issue.

nah it happens on my machine for ages except with the amarok package I compiled myself. It indeed is not theme related but I didn't investigate too much since the version I compiled locally seems to run just fine.

Offline

#144 2009-11-03 00:37:56

invisible_man
Member
Registered: 2009-10-12
Posts: 12

Re: kde-snapshot repo

I've had this problem even with self-compiled amarok, now that i try, with oxygen as well. @pressh, what libs do you have installed?

Offline

#145 2009-11-03 09:01:34

pressh
Developer/TU
From: Netherlands
Registered: 2005-08-14
Posts: 1,719

Re: kde-snapshot repo

invisible_man wrote:

I've had this problem even with self-compiled amarok, now that i try, with oxygen as well. @pressh, what libs do you have installed?

just about all packages from this repo except the kdebindings/sip/pyqt ones which I use from [extra] or else half of my plasmoids don't work. I'll try to compile amarok again in a few hours and see if it does still work.

[edit]
I compiled qtscriptgenerator-git and amarok-git, but it didn't help that much. Then I disabled the wikipedia and lyrics plasmoids and it seems to be running fine now (at least the -git ones I just compiled but I presume it should also work with amarok from extra).

Last edited by pressh (2009-11-03 11:55:11)

Offline

#146 2009-11-03 17:23:44

sylvlinux
Member
Registered: 2009-11-02
Posts: 25

Re: kde-snapshot repo

Then I disabled the wikipedia and lyrics plasmoids and it seems to be running fine now (at least the -git ones I just compiled but I presume it should also work with amarok from extra).

That's what I'm trying to say at the beginning tongue with my poor english lol

Offline

#147 2009-11-03 20:03:46

pressh
Developer/TU
From: Netherlands
Registered: 2005-08-14
Posts: 1,719

Re: kde-snapshot repo

sylvlinux wrote:

Then I disabled the wikipedia and lyrics plasmoids and it seems to be running fine now (at least the -git ones I just compiled but I presume it should also work with amarok from extra).

That's what I'm trying to say at the beginning tongue with my poor english lol

gosh, now I see lol

well at least you can listen to your music tongue

Offline

#148 2009-11-03 20:05:48

mutlu_inek
Member
From: all over the place
Registered: 2006-11-18
Posts: 677
Website

Re: kde-snapshot repo

finex wrote:

It looks a common problem: I've just experienced it using OpenSUSE 11.2 RC2 too. I've reported a bug report to kdm:  https://bugs.kde.org/show_bug.cgi?id=212715

Welcome to Arch, Finex! And thank you for all the things you do for KDE. smile

Offline

#149 2009-11-03 21:34:30

ProgDan
Member
From: Teplice, Czech Republic
Registered: 2007-10-04
Posts: 441
Website

Re: kde-snapshot repo

Cheers. The x86_64 repo was updated to 4.3.74svn1044029. i686 repo will follow as usually later.

SolidSnake: You are right, this thread is getting too confusing.
I have founded new thread: KDE 4.4-unstable Announcements (http://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?pid=649480).

In this thread you can keep discussing any issues you encounter with my repo.

Have a nice day!

PS: I'm sorry I did not respond to the thread here in last days...either I was automatically unsubscribed or I have some serious issues with my email delivery system :-) .

Offline

#150 2009-11-03 21:37:44

sylvlinux
Member
Registered: 2009-11-02
Posts: 25

Re: kde-snapshot repo

pressh wrote:
sylvlinux wrote:

Then I disabled the wikipedia and lyrics plasmoids and it seems to be running fine now (at least the -git ones I just compiled but I presume it should also work with amarok from extra).

That's what I'm trying to say at the beginning tongue with my poor english lol

gosh, now I see lol

well at least you can listen to your music tongue

lol yes lol
We'll see if it works after the next update:)

Last edited by sylvlinux (2009-11-03 21:38:08)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB