You are not logged in.

#1 2004-10-25 06:47:09

lafayette
Member
From: Italy
Registered: 2004-10-17
Posts: 58

Gnome Menus

I've just installed ArchLinux 0.7beta1, I've installed a bunch of apps (like xmms xine and others) and Gnome, but I don't have any entry in Gnome menu, only Desktop preferences and help. Is tyhere a way to generate menus or something isn't working well?

Offline

#2 2004-10-25 10:48:29

zeppelin
Member
From: Athens, Greece
Registered: 2004-03-05
Posts: 807
Website

Re: Gnome Menus

lafayette wrote:

I've just installed ArchLinux 0.7beta1, I've installed a bunch of apps (like xmms xine and others) and Gnome, but I don't have any entry in Gnome menu, only Desktop preferences and help. Is tyhere a way to generate menus or something isn't working well?

you have to add them by yourself, just right click where you want to then Entire Menu  and then "Add new item in the menu"

Offline

#3 2004-10-25 18:16:48

lafayette
Member
From: Italy
Registered: 2004-10-17
Posts: 58

Re: Gnome Menus

sorry but, right click where? on desktop?

Offline

#4 2004-10-26 02:15:58

cbozic
Member
From: Morgantown, WV, USA
Registered: 2004-01-31
Posts: 77

Re: Gnome Menus

right click on an item in the gnome menu that isn't a sub menu

Offline

#5 2004-11-14 16:25:17

segmental
Member
Registered: 2004-11-07
Posts: 51

Re: Gnome Menus

Problems with right-clicking:
There is no way to create a new submenu or
move an item from one submenu to another or
add an item to an empty submenu.

I was just trying to edit my menu in Gnome and after some
research came up with a solution that is more of a kludge.

The folder /opt/gnome/share/gnome/vfolders has these type of files:

Accessibility.directory
Accessories.directory
Advanced.directory
... etc.

which are displayed in the Gnome Applications menu as submenus.
If you look at them, they are text files very similar
to .desktop files except they end with:

Icon=whatever.png
Type=Directory

In /opt/gnome/etc/gnome-vfs-2.0/vfolders/ there is the file
'applications-all-users.vfolder-info' which has these type of
entries:

<!-- Root folder -->
  <Folder>

<!-- Internet -->
    <Folder>
      <Name>Internet</Name>
      <Desktop>Internet.directory</Desktop>
      <Query>
        <And>
          <Keyword>Application</Keyword>
          <Keyword>Network</Keyword>
        </And>
      </Query>
      <DontShowIfEmpty/>
    </Folder>

with one <Folder> for each of the .directory files. If you
comment out <DontShowIfEmpty/> to <!-- DontShowIfEmpty/ -->
an empty submenu should show up in the menu. But you can 
not add an item to it via right-clicking.

If you go to ~/.gnome2/vfolders there is the file
'applications.vfolder-info' that you can edit. Here is a sample:

<Folder>
  <Name>Root</Name>
  <Parent>applications-all-users:///</Parent>
  <Folder>
    <Name>Internet</Name>
    <Parent>applications-all-users:///Internet</Parent>
    <Include>/home/username/.gnome2/vfolders/applications/Firefox.desktop</Include>
  </Folder>

You can add a submenu like so:
  <Folder>
    <Name>New Sub</Name>
  </Folder>
and add items to by moving or copying <include> entries into it.

A .desktop file and an <include> entry will be created when you
right-click a menu item, select 'Entire menu -> Add new item to this menu'.
The .desktop file will be placed in ~/.gnome2/vfolders/applications.
Then you can rename them and reorganize them as you like in the
applications.vfolder-info file.

Eventually you can get the menu system you want. But it is a tedious process. After editing, the only way I know of to reload
the menu is to log out then reload Gnome.

Offline

#6 2004-11-14 18:02:52

patrix
Member
Registered: 2004-08-27
Posts: 51

Re: Gnome Menus

you can also go to applications:///  in nautilus and add folders, right-click and create launchers, etc, to edit your menus.

Right-clicking inside menus works only in gnome 2.8 I think. And you don't right-click the menu itself.. Say you want to add an item in "Graphics". You go to applications -> graphics then inside the graphics menu (where it says "Gimp" "Image viewer" etc) you right click one of those and you get a menu where you can "Add launcher to this panel".

Offline

#7 2004-11-19 09:40:38

iggy
Member
From: Germany, L.E. - Leipzig
Registered: 2004-10-17
Posts: 367

Re: Gnome Menus

i have even no shortcuts/launcher in my gnome-menus! there are other ways to let gnome or the program add entrys to the applications menu? i think its not so nice to add each program by myself. for example, were i can get the icons for the entrys! like firefox-icon.


sorry for my bad english smile

Offline

#8 2004-11-19 11:28:56

JGC
Developer
Registered: 2003-12-03
Posts: 1,659

Re: Gnome Menus

Now that both gnome and KDE and the upcoming XFCE 4.2 fully support the Freedesktop.org menu standard, I think we should get working on adding .desktop files in /usr/share/applications for programs that don't do this themselves (mozilla, firefox, thunderbird, xmms, whatever)

I don't think this is done very soon, but I will work on it as a new arch developer.

Offline

#9 2004-11-20 00:29:00

xerxes2
Member
From: Malmoe, Sweden
Registered: 2004-04-23
Posts: 1,249
Website

Re: Gnome Menus

JGC wrote:

I don't think this is done very soon, but I will work on it as a new arch developer.

welcome to the party, 
what's your name?
just in case you screw up and we have someone to bash,:D

wasn't it you that were making gnome betas?
maybe you can use unstable repository fot it now,


arch + gentoo + initng + python = enlisy

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB