You are not logged in.

#1 2009-07-23 23:27:32

kapz
Website

[Solved]Grub multiboot help..

Hi all.

I am new to linux and i am having hard time installing grub. I am booting 5-6 OS'es big_smile
But there is a problem configuring one OS.

I have 80 GB SCSI drive. So I have:-
sda1 - 20 GB for Windows C
(sda2-Logical part, 3&4 are cd drives)
sda5 - 25 GB for Windows D
Sda6 - 5 GB Open Suse  (just to get used to..)
sda7 - 5 GB fedora 11   --------||---------
sda8 - 500 MB fedora /boot partition
sda 9 - 5 GB Slackware (Beginner)
sda10 - 2 Gb Swap
sda11 - 12 GB ARCH (Love to use it since quite a time now)

Now I have installed suse,slack and fedora on a PC with winxp and arch already installed on it. So MBR was overwritten by opensuse w/o detecting ARCH,Fed as it doesnt detect ext4(yet!) and messed up entries for fed and arch and slack(it didnt detect slacks entry, i think it should..). So I ran Arch live cd and reinstalled grub(through archwiki article). Now the grub reads the menu.lst file from fedora's /boot(sda8) strange!. Everything works fine except that slackware has no entry in grub or lilo(i didnt install lilo either - yes i know i goofed up there)...

Now all I want to know is that there any way to add a slack entry in grub w/o having to boot slack live dvd and install grub for slack then again boot arch live cd(as slack wont detect ext4 partitions) and do grub-install again and again?

Any help/explanation is appreciated guyz. smile

Last edited by kapz (2009-07-29 15:47:12)

I wonder how it would be like to use the rest 99% of my brain..:P

Registered Linux User: 487155

#2 2009-07-24 01:44:51

renners1

Re: [Solved]Grub multiboot help..

It doesn't matter which distro's GRUB you use. Choose one, manually update the menu.list to reference all your partions and write it to mbr.

check the arch wiki for good info : http://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Grub