You are not logged in.

#1 2009-07-25 02:08:17

ahndoruuu

Wireless PCI Card need Config at install?

So I've been using Ubuntu for about two months now, and I had heard very good things about Arch on their forums, as I'm really a tinkerer at heart and would value the ability to build an OS entirely suited to me, so I figured I'd try it out.

I just went through the Arch install process *with the help of the Beginner's Guide, of course* and got the base system installed, however there was no working network connection, I was given an "unknown host" error message when I tried to ping Google.  The thing is, during install I didn't add/change anything in the /etc/hosts.deny, /etc/hosts.allow, /etc/hosts, or etc/resolv.conf, as the instructions were somewhat vague and I know very little about these kinds of things.  I'm running a Linksys Wireless PCI WMP54GS card (has a Broadcom chipset) which I have to use ndiswrapper for in Ubuntu.  When installing packages in Arch, I installed the ndiswrapper packages because I thought I'd need them. 

So basically my question is do I need to edit any of those files? And did I need to install the ndiswrapper packages?

#2 2009-07-25 06:14:14

djszapi
Website

Re: Wireless PCI Card need Config at install?

Welcome to the forum Ahndoruuu!

You can use ndiswrapper too, and It's not neccesary to edit that files in normal case.

What encryption do you use? Is your card in iwconfig? Which dhcp client do you use ? dhclient or dhcpcd ? Which version of kernel/driver?

Btw, did you read this ?
http://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Wireless_Setup

And this if you have WPA encryption:

http://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/WPA_Supplicant
http://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Ndi … supplicant

#3 2009-07-25 06:57:36

ahndoruuu

Thanks!