You are not logged in.

#1 2004-10-27 07:40:46

netloss
Member
Registered: 2004-10-27
Posts: 10

Difficulties installing Arch on laptop

I am trying to put arch on a Sony laptop with no CD-ROM.

It has a floppy, but the floppy is USB. This means I cannot install with the floppies/ftp method, because the first (boot) disk books OK, but then it asks for the root floppy and cannot find it.

The laptop is currently running fedora core 2.  I used a tutorial for a Fedora Core upgrade technique to place the arch iso on the laptop's hard drive, then put its isolinux directory in a separate spot on the hard drive, and then boot to that isolinux directory from grub. Using this technique, I can launch /arch/setup. However, I do not see the option to specify a spot on the hard drive to install from (as I did with FC) and I cannot figure out how to make it recognize my laptop's ethernet connection so I can use the ftp install.

I am willing to install either from my hard drive, local network, or ftp, but I need to know how to make the installer see my network connection once I've booted (either from the boot floppy or from my hard drive). ALternately, I need to make it see the ISO on the hard drive.

Thanks in advance for any help!

-netloss

Offline

#2 2004-10-27 08:30:01

Mr Green
Forum Fellow
From: U.K.
Registered: 2003-12-21
Posts: 5,770

Re: Difficulties installing Arch on laptop

Ok.

dmesg | grep eth

Will show you modules name you need for ethernet

or

lsmod

in fedora

HTH

or chroot into Arch partition...run from there...


Mr Green

Offline

#3 2004-10-27 10:00:12

netloss
Member
Registered: 2004-10-27
Posts: 10

Re: Difficulties installing Arch on laptop

Thanks for the reply. I'm afraid I need more explicit directions to get this up and running. I am still learning shell commands, etc., and just need a bit more verbose directions.

Thanks again, for the reply and for anyone who doesn't mind clarifying...

Offline

#4 2004-10-27 10:26:55

Mr Green
Forum Fellow
From: U.K.
Registered: 2003-12-21
Posts: 5,770

Re: Difficulties installing Arch on laptop

Is your network working under Fedora ?

If it is the information you need is there for you ....

I'm sure someone will be able to walk you through ftp install ....

Good Luck


Mr Green

Offline

#5 2004-10-27 22:12:53

netloss
Member
Registered: 2004-10-27
Posts: 10

Re: Difficulties installing Arch on laptop

OK, so using the commands you provided, I determined that my laptop uses the plain old e100 network module.

I guess my question is then: How do I load that module from the busybox prompt, before typing the /arch/setup command?

Offline

#6 2004-10-28 00:30:20

xerxes2
Member
From: Malmoe, Sweden
Registered: 2004-04-23
Posts: 1,249
Website

Re: Difficulties installing Arch on laptop

isn't this described in the manual?
also make sure that your cpu is i686 compatible so you are not wasting your time here,
good luck,


arch + gentoo + initng + python = enlisy

Offline

#7 2004-10-28 00:57:36

netloss
Member
Registered: 2004-10-27
Posts: 10

Re: Difficulties installing Arch on laptop

The laptop is a Pentium 3, so I believe I am not wasting my time.

I found instructions on how to use floppy disks to load the network module, but I cannot use the floppy method because it fails to recognize my USB floppy. I searched previous posts for workarounds, but found no way to make the floppy method work with a USB floppy. Hence my bastardized attempt to boot from the hard drive and initiate a ftp install. This method seems very promising, but I need to make my ethernet card work before launching /arch/setup.

All I'm looking for now is a command or set of commands that will let me load the e100 module, from the busybox shell, so I can launch the ftp install. I realize this may be a very basic request, but I have looked extensively and am having difficulty finding the exact commands for this situation.

Offline

#8 2004-10-28 14:26:17

phrakture
Arch Overlord
From: behind you
Registered: 2003-10-29
Posts: 7,879
Website

Re: Difficulties installing Arch on laptop

why not just copy the module into some random directory - you should be able to modprobe the file directly (modprobe /some/dir/path/e100.ko)

Offline

#9 2004-10-30 04:55:18

Xentac
Forum Fellow
From: Victoria, BC
Registered: 2003-01-17
Posts: 1,797
Website

Re: Difficulties installing Arch on laptop


I have discovered that all of mans unhappiness derives from only one source, not being able to sit quietly in a room
- Blaise Pascal

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB