You are not logged in.

#1 2003-07-07 17:14:09

lenny
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2002-10-29
Posts: 5

FTGL glut error

Hello,

i am trying to compile FTGL 1.3 from

http://homepages.paradise.net.nz/henryj/code/index.html

running ./configure in the unix directory gives me the following error message:

.
.
.
checking GL/glu.h presence... yes
checking for GL/glu.h... yes
checking for GLU version >= 1.2... yes
checking for gluNewTess in -lGLU... yes
checking GL/glut.h usability... yes
checking GL/glut.h presence... yes
checking for GL/glut.h... yes
checking for glutInit in -lglut... no
Couldn't find GLUT, trying again with extra linker flags
checking for glutInit in -lglut... no
configure: error: libglut is required to compile this library

according to pacman I have glut 3.7-2 installed. Do I have to install some kind of glut-devel package in addition? Can anybody help me?

thanks

Offline

#2 2003-07-07 20:31:53

Xentac
Forum Fellow
From: Victoria, BC
Registered: 2003-01-17
Posts: 1,797
Website

Re: FTGL glut error

My bet is you're missing a line in your /etc/ld.so.conf file.  In mine I've add /usr/X11R6/lib.  Once you do that, then type 'ldconfig' as root.  It won't return anything.

Now try compiling.

The glut lib files are stored in /usr/X11R6/lib, which isn't a standard ld directory.  Adding it to /etc/ld.so.conf tells ld to search there.


I have discovered that all of mans unhappiness derives from only one source, not being able to sit quietly in a room
- Blaise Pascal

Offline

#3 2003-07-07 20:43:01

Gyroplast
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2002-09-03
Posts: 166
Website

Re: FTGL glut error

Just an additional hint to what Xentac said: After you did what he said, make sure you don't just rerun ./configure, as it will most likely use the cached (wrong) results and continue spouting out this error. To be absolutely safe, unzip the tarball again and work with a fresh copy of the source.

Greets,
  Dennis


"That's the problem with good advice. Nobody wants to hear it."
-- Dogbert

Offline

#4 2003-07-08 12:18:58

lenny
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2002-10-29
Posts: 5

Re: FTGL glut error

Thanks for your answers so far. I already have added /usr/X11R6/lib to /etc/ld.so.conf and run ldconfig long ago. Maybe I should have mentioned this before, but anyway, I cannot follow why the script can't find glut, since I have compiled many other programs which use it, and they all went nicely.

Offline

#5 2003-07-08 12:59:00

Gyroplast
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2002-09-03
Posts: 166
Website

Re: FTGL glut error

Okay, please don't ask me why, but I can reproduce this problem here with the GLU library. It helped me to add LDFLAGS="-L/usr/X11R6/lib" before the configure line to explicitly add the correct dir to the linker path:

[root@fennec unix]# LDFLAGS="-L/usr/X11R6/lib" ./configure

Now I have no idea why this library is not found by default, although it's definitely in the ld cache. Maybe a quirk in the configure script, as it works fine for you with all other programs you compiled. *shrug*

Good luck,
  Dennis


"That's the problem with good advice. Nobody wants to hear it."
-- Dogbert

Offline

#6 2003-07-08 13:46:39

lenny
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2002-10-29
Posts: 5

Re: FTGL glut error

It is working now, thank you!

Offline

#7 2003-07-17 12:37:58

DanEE
Member
From: Fribourg, Switzerland
Registered: 2003-07-10
Posts: 43

Re: FTGL glut error

Hi
I have also problems with the -lGLU library.
Everytime (that means really all things I've tried) I want to compile something that uses the -lGLU lib I get the following errors (for example this little piece of code from www.gametutorials.com --> Color_SDL.zip:

/usr/bin/ld: cannot find -lGLU
collect2: ld returned 1 exit status
make: *** [Color] Error 1

But my library path is good and even telling the compiler to look for -L/usr/X11R6/lib didn't help.
After a while of research and googling I found out that changing the Makefile to this did help:

$(TARGET):      Main.o Init.o
        $(CC) -o $(TARGET) Main.o Init.o `sdl-config --libs` -lGL /usr/X11R6/lib/libGLU.so -lm

But it's not really satisfying for me to change every Makefile this way and explicitly link to /usr/X11R6/lib/libGLU.so. Are there any ideas how I can change that?

Offline

#8 2003-07-17 16:32:02

lenny
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2002-10-29
Posts: 5

Re: FTGL glut error

Hello,

I have also found the configure script of the game gl-117 not to be working. It is from:
http://home.t-online.de/home/primetime. … l-117.html
./configure complains about GLUT not found with both versions of gl-117 v0.9 and v0.8.8.

.
.
.
checking for glEnable in -lGL... yes
checking for gluPerspective in -lGLU... yes
checking for glutMainLoop in -lglut... no
configure: error: GLUT not found - please install GLUT or MesaGLUT

I have tried it with LDFLAGS="-L/usr/X11R6/lib" but without any use.

Sorry, but this game looks very promising to me.  big_smile
Any ideas?

thanx

Offline

#9 2005-01-08 14:34:27

lenny
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2002-10-29
Posts: 5

Re: FTGL glut error

thanks for your help, even some 1,5 years late  roll

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB