You are not logged in.

#1 2004-10-30 08:01:33

netloss
Member
Registered: 2004-10-27
Posts: 10

Getting ethernet / internet up and running under arch

I'm having trouble getting an internet connection under arch. I can ping my router/gateway and another box on my local network, but nothing on the internet. Obviously, this prevents me from using pacman to get tools to simplify matters...

I have a Linksys LNE100 pci ethernet card connected to a router that does dhcp configuration.

I have tinkered with /etc/rc.config, and modprobed the tulip module (which I believe is the correct one) but I'm lost. The documents I've looked at don't seem to apply to my current situation.

Thanks in advance

Offline

#2 2004-10-30 08:30:12

cactus
Taco Eater
From: t͈̫̹ͨa͖͕͎̱͈ͨ͆ć̥̖̝o̫̫̼s͈̭̱̞͍̃!̰
Registered: 2004-05-25
Posts: 4,615
Website

Re: Getting ethernet / internet up and running under arch

check your /etc/resolv.conf

likely you just cant get any dns resolution. I don't know why dhcpcd (or dhclient) isn't setting it up for you, but it might not be.
can you ping by ip addy?

216.239.39.99  -- google.com


"Be conservative in what you send; be liberal in what you accept." -- Postel's Law
"tacos" -- Cactus' Law
"t̥͍͎̪̪͗a̴̻̩͈͚ͨc̠o̩̙͈ͫͅs͙͎̙͊ ͔͇̫̜t͎̳̀a̜̞̗ͩc̗͍͚o̲̯̿s̖̣̤̙͌ ̖̜̈ț̰̫͓ạ̪͖̳c̲͎͕̰̯̃̈o͉ͅs̪ͪ ̜̻̖̜͕" -- -̖͚̫̙̓-̺̠͇ͤ̃ ̜̪̜ͯZ͔̗̭̞ͪA̝͈̙͖̩L͉̠̺͓G̙̞̦͖O̳̗͍

Offline

#3 2004-10-30 10:59:22

netloss
Member
Registered: 2004-10-27
Posts: 10

Re: Getting ethernet / internet up and running under arch

I can ping my router and ping another computer on my local network, and that works fine. But pinging Yahoo results in:

connect: Network is unreachable

This is true even after I manually added a couple of nameserver lines in /etc/resolv.conf.

I have never installed a stripped-down linux before, but I'm trying to learn....

Just for my information,  what is the "normal" procedure for getting a typical network connection (ethernet to router, which has a cable modem) going? The install guide sort of leaves you hanging after you do the initial setup/install and you log into the shell. It seems like running pacman is the next logical step, but obviously I can't do that yet.

Thanks for helping me troubleshoot this...

Offline

#4 2004-10-30 11:07:23

z4ziggy
Member
From: Israel
Registered: 2004-03-29
Posts: 573
Website

Re: Getting ethernet / internet up and running under arch

is your eth0 (or whatever your ethernet device is) configured in /etc/rc.conf with something like eth0="dhcp" and underneath you should also have INTERFACES=(lo eth0). just to make sure you have all configured correctly, issue ifconfig and paste your results.

Offline

#5 2004-10-30 11:23:04

netloss
Member
Registered: 2004-10-27
Posts: 10

Re: Getting ethernet / internet up and running under arch

In rc.conf I have these lines:

lo="lo 127.0.0.1"
eth0="eth0 192.168.0.7 netmask 255.255.255.0 broadcast 192.168.0.255"
INTERFACES=(eth0="dhcp")
INTERFACES=(lo eth0)

gateway="default 192.168.0.1"
ROUTES=(gateway)


I will post the results of ifconfig later; I have to hand-type all this stuff since I know of no way to get the info onto this working computer, and it takes awhile (and it's bedtime for me). Let me know if anything jumps out at you as wrong with these rc.config lines... and thanks.

Offline

#6 2004-10-30 11:34:11

z4ziggy
Member
From: Israel
Registered: 2004-03-29
Posts: 573
Website

Re: Getting ethernet / internet up and running under arch

change

netloss wrote:

lo="lo 127.0.0.1"
eth0="eth0 192.168.0.7 netmask 255.255.255.0 broadcast 192.168.0.255"
INTERFACES=(eth0="dhcp")
INTERFACES=(lo eth0)

gateway="default 192.168.0.1"
ROUTES=(gateway)

to

lo="lo 127.0.0.1"
eth0="dhcp"
INTERFACES=(lo eth0)
ROUTES=(!gateway) #unless u need to to set it as a gateway for some reason

Offline

#7 2004-10-30 12:18:59

xerxes2
Member
From: Malmoe, Sweden
Registered: 2004-04-23
Posts: 1,249
Website

Re: Getting ethernet / internet up and running under arch

z4ziggy got it right,
there is also this wiki
http://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Sta … and%20DHCP
and there is also the complete desktop setup wiki
http://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Desktop%20Arch

good luck


arch + gentoo + initng + python = enlisy

Offline

#8 2004-10-30 12:54:34

z4ziggy
Member
From: Israel
Registered: 2004-03-29
Posts: 573
Website

Re: Getting ethernet / internet up and running under arch

I've just updated the wiki page ( http://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Sta … and%20DHCP ) to be a bit more specific (bold font does it sometimes wink).

Offline

#9 2004-10-30 21:19:03

netloss
Member
Registered: 2004-10-27
Posts: 10

Re: Getting ethernet / internet up and running under arch

Thanks, both of you! Especially for updating the wiki, that really helps. I can now ping external hosts, so I think I've got this solved. On to the next problem  smile

Offline

#10 2004-10-30 22:25:22

xerxes2
Member
From: Malmoe, Sweden
Registered: 2004-04-23
Posts: 1,249
Website

Re: Getting ethernet / internet up and running under arch

z4ziggy wrote:

I've just updated the wiki page ( http://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Sta … and%20DHCP ) to be a bit more specific (bold font does it sometimes wink).

nice work, I wrote the first version but this one is better and also contains how to set hostname,
it looks almost professional,  big_smile


arch + gentoo + initng + python = enlisy

Offline

#11 2004-10-30 23:14:45

z4ziggy
Member
From: Israel
Registered: 2004-03-29
Posts: 573
Website

Re: Getting ethernet / internet up and running under arch

tnx wink now if we could just upgrade the total wiki layout, that could be awesome... big_smile

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB