You are not logged in.

#1 2009-08-08 21:56:26

Lone_Wolf

Which virtualization environment ?

Within a few weeks i will start studying for MS server 2008 certification (Needed for my job) .

My personal pc/laptops have been running arch for several years now, and i intend to keep it that way.
Virtual Machines are abviously the answer.

A typical VM setup will have 4  machines ( 2 servers, 2 clients).
USB hardware and 3D support is unimportant, the ability to make teams of those machines and place them in different subnets IS.
high res 1920x1200 support in the VM's is optional.

In the past i have used vmware workstation for this, but i only have a license for version 5 and that doesn't run windows server 2008 .
I could upgrade the license, but would like to give the OSS solutions a chance.

As i have no experience with other virtual environments like kvm and virtualbox i hope other archlinux users can help me decide which oss vurtualization would be the best for this purpose.

Last edited by Lone_Wolf (2009-08-08 21:58:36)

Disliking systemd intensely, but not satisfied with alternatives so focusing on taming systemd.

(A works at time B)  && (time C > time B ) ≠  (A works at time C)

#2 2009-08-08 22:19:54

JawsThemeSwimming428

Re: Which virtualization environment ?

Not sure about kvm as I have never used it but I look at Virtualbox as a more "home-user" oriented solution. It has gotten much better over time and in no way am I saying it isn't good but I'm not sure it is as full-featured as VMWare Workstation. I use it frequently at home for running Linux, Windows, and BSD VM's and it usually works good. Maybe someone can provide more light on this. Good luck with whatever you choose!

#3 2009-08-08 22:41:53

mikesd
Website

I would look at VirtualBox for this. I have used VirtualBox and kvm and VirtualBox is more polished. Install it and take it for a spin.

#4 2009-08-08 23:16:08

moljac024

One more recommendation for Virtualbox..