You are not logged in.

#1 2004-10-31 01:09:05

madhattr
Member
Registered: 2004-05-12
Posts: 39

Samba-setup

I am on a lan with another windows computer, i am trying to transfer a file to this computer via LAN and Samba. I have the arch samba package installed and i have not touched anything else. What must i do to get my samba configured to work? or is it already configured? Also what must i do to access a share on another windows computer on my LAN.

Offline

#2 2004-10-31 13:47:06

Kalidor
Member
Registered: 2004-06-18
Posts: 80

Re: Samba-setup

Provided that the SMB server is up and running you only have to create a mountpoint and mount the share using either "smbmount" or "mount -t smbfs". See

man smbmount

for details. Also, you might want to or have to edit /etc/samba/smb.conf according to your needs. When manual mounting works, you can include your settings in your /etc/fstab for better convenience.

Offline

#3 2004-10-31 15:54:48

onami
Member
From: Romania
Registered: 2004-05-05
Posts: 197

Re: Samba-setup

/etc/samba/smb.conf is the config file for the samba server.
the file is well commented so you will know what everything does.
if you just installed samba then /etc/samba/smb.conf is named /etc/samba/smb.conf.example or something. rename it and edit it.


Forever newbie !!!

Offline

#4 2004-11-01 11:16:15

scottro
Member
From: NYC
Registered: 2002-10-11
Posts: 454
Website

Re: Samba-setup

I have a page on samba (well, 2, actually) that might be of some use

http://home.nyc.rr.com/computertaijutsu/samba.html

http://www.qnd-guides.net/qnd-samba.html

Offline

#5 2004-11-02 19:52:48

Stinky
Member
From: The Colony, TX
Registered: 2004-05-28
Posts: 187

Re: Samba-setup

IF you're using KDE and just want to transfer files from the linux box to the windows box, (actually, you can transfer both directions this way).  You can just open Konqueror and in the address bar type:
smb://ipofwindowsbox/c$
Hit enter and it will prompt you for username and password.  Enter a user and password that exists on the windows box then copy files all you want.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB