You are not logged in.

#1 2009-08-14 10:04:34

AtlanticVoyager

"dhcpcd" not always finding my router when I boot up

Hi. I am new to ArchLinux, having installed it a few days ago. Most things are working well, but there are a few problems.
One of them is that dhcpcd does not always find my ethernet connection - eth0. About 50% of the time it hangs when trying to start the network, then times out with FAILED message given. I can start the connection manually by coding: dhcpcd in a terminal as root, but it is a bit annoying. Does anyone have any idea what is not configured correctly?

I don't know whether it is linked to this error message that I get whenever I try to gedit a configuration file:

GConf Error: Failed to contact configuration server; some possible causes are that you need to enable TCP/IP networking for ORBit, or you have stale NFS locks due to a system crash. See http://projects.gnome.org/gconf/ for information. (Details -  1: Failed to get connection to session: Did not receive a reply. Possible causes include: the remote application did not send a reply, the message bus security policy blocked the reply, the reply timeout expired, or the network connection was broken.

Anyway here is the relevant section of my rc.conf file:
# DHCP:     Set your interface to "dhcp" (eth0="dhcp")
eth0="dhcp"
# Wireless: See network profiles below
#
#eth0="eth0 192.168.0.2 netmask 255.255.255.0 broadcast 192.168.0.255"
INTERFACES=(eth0)

# Routes to start at boot-up (in this order)
# Declare each route then list in ROUTES
#   - prefix an entry in ROUTES with a ! to disable it
#
gateway="default gw 192.168.0.1"
ROUTES=(!gateway)

I hope someone can help. Thanks.

#2 2009-08-14 11:17:04

Trent

Re: "dhcpcd" not always finding my router when I boot up