You are not logged in.

#1 2009-08-14 17:16:44

AtlanticVoyager

Errors when using "gedit" to edit a file as root

Hi. I am new to this distribution, and like what I see, but still have a few problems to iron out. I have installed the GNOME desktop. Things are not running completely smoothly there. One problem is that when I try to "gedit" a file as root, the terminal fills up with endless repetitions of the following text:

GConf Error: Failed to contact configuration server; some possible causes are that you need to enable TCP/IP networking for ORBit, or you have stale NFS locks due to a system crash. See http://projects.gnome.org/gconf/ for information. (Details -  1: Failed to get connection to session: Did not receive a reply. Possible causes include: the remote application did not send a reply, the message bus security policy blocked the reply, the reply timeout expired, or the network connection was broken.)

Finally it stops and lets me gedit and save the amended file.

Hidden among all this verbage is this:

(gedit:3086): GVFS-RemoteVolumeMonitor-WARNING **: cannot connect to the session bus: org.freedesktop.DBus.Error.NoReply: Did not receive a reply. Possible causes include: the remote application did not send a reply, the message bus security policy blocked the reply, the reply timeout expired, or the network connection was broken.

This only happens when I "gedit" a file as root. When I "gedit" a file in my home directory as a normal user, I don't get any problems. Should I be using sudo? I don't want to, I think it is much better from a security point of view to have a separate root password, which is  only used for administrative purposes. I don't know why this error is occurring. Could someone please help?

#2 2009-08-14 21:05:15

Nathan

Re: Errors when using "gedit" to edit a file as root

I don't have any idea why that is happening, but you can set sudo to require a root password when you use it. I'm sure that would work.