You are not logged in.

#1 2009-08-19 15:06:54

gapo
Website

Alternate method of installation

Hi,
I am a linux enthusiast cum student. I already installed Arch on my laptop. Learned loads. Then, suddenly one fine day had to format my laptop because of a service problem. I lost all of my Arch settings . However, I copied by /pkg to a backup drive.

The problem is now I want to reinstall Arch. All of my packages are now so old. (nearly 4 months ). I have a very poor connection at home ( ~0.26 Mb/s ) . I would be running KDE and Openbox, a couple of common applications ... all leading to a download of aroud 5-6 GB if done anew . Considering my backup of previous pkgs I would still be leading around 3 GB at the least.

I'm pretty lazy and don't want to do it all again. Can somebody suggest me ...

a way to install arch without wasting time downloading all the packages ... which takes a long time considering my bandwidth

I'm running a Core 2 duo processor with Windows 7 and a fundamental Arch upon it right now ...
Have all the RAM ~ 3 GB and disk space ~ 150 GB free.

I'm reasonably competent and ok with coding. Can configure any app mostly.
I am running Virtualbox too.

Arch has so far answered all of my wishes ...
Plz make it answer this one too tongue

Thanks

Last edited by gapo (2009-08-19 17:15:02)

How I'm learning linux : If it ain't broken, fix it until it is. Then start over again.
....................................................................................................
Gapo the flow

#2 2009-08-19 16:50:25

Chrysalis

Re: Alternate method of installation

Take your laptop to work/school or some place with a fast internet?

Rolling distro and slow internet dont quite mix well if you cant roll. Might wanna look at something static like debian.

btw, i think you mean 0.26Mb/s (2MB a min)... 0.26MB/s is not slow at all (15MBs a minute)

Last edited by Chrysalis (2009-08-19 17:11:42)

#3 2009-08-19 17:11:20

Dieter@be
Forum Fellow
Website