You are not logged in.

#1 2009-08-20 13:59:27

Kruppe

stumpwm and stability in an office setting

I have used awesome (the window manager) for a fairly long time, and while it is quite good constantly changing my config file is not very pleasant. I use emacs a lot and I am fairly competent with lisp so I thought of using stumpwm. I have also considered using Xmonad although the prospect of working haskel is kind of pushing me away from that (being that I have no experience with Haskel).

From what I hear stumpwm used to be fairly unstable, lots of crashing etc. Has this improved? Is it stable enough to use as a main window manager in an office setting? If not I guess I will go with Xmonad as from what I hear it is much more stable.

Thanks for any help provided,

Kruppe

#2 2009-08-20 20:48:08

Theomachos
Website

Re: stumpwm and stability in an office setting

Hm...
I think it's not a good idea to use Stumpwm in an office setting. It's really cool, but far from stable.
If you really want to use it, I'd recommend using clisp-new-clx (AUR). SBCL crashes more often, at least on my PC. (That's why I made the PKGBUILD wink )
Avoid using the mode-line ! Afaik it's responsible for most crashes.

P.S.: Do I have to mention that you should use the stable release ? smile Git-version can be a pain in the......

Last edited by Theomachos (2009-08-20 20:49:35)

There is one thing even more vital to science than intelligent methods; and that is, the sincere desire to find out the truth, whatever it may be.
Charles S. Peirce

#3 2009-08-20 21:19:48

Kruppe

I heard most of the crashes in SBCL is from compiling SBCL with threading. The version of SBCL I'm using has been compiled without threading so I was hoping I would be fine...

If thats not the reason though I will probably just go for the stable version of awesome at work, and just lock it at a specific version so that I don't have to change the configs every couple weeks.