You are not logged in.

#1 2009-08-26 01:32:08

bpladirector

Older version of Arch

Hello all, I am relatively new to linux wrt to time spent using Linux, but have dabbled with it over the years out of curiosity.  I am intrigued about the idea of Arch Linux and so wanted to try it out using virtualbox (I am such a "newbie" that only a few days ago had it been since i first tried using a virtual machine for anything).  I have a virtualbox vm being hosted on Windows XP, but cannot get past something called "udev" when loading the current edition of Arch (the edition that is offered via torrent).

Is it possible that I may have better luck using an edition of Arch Linux that has an older kernel?  I think that I read something about 2.6.30 having issues with virtualbox.

The reason I wish to sue virtualbox, is that I would like to get the hang of installing Arch.  I have read that it is/can be difficult for Linux users with little experience (Eg.  I could install Sidux and mess around with smxi script but could not figure out how to get my wireless networking to work).

Anyways, thank you for any consideration; I am simply experimenting and do not require immediate help.

#2 2009-08-26 02:21:29

LeoSolaris

Re: Older version of Arch

The only old Arch core install (which is what your looking for, the ftp/netinstall will just pull in the latest packages) I have left as an ISO is the 2009.02-x86_64 (64-bit version)

If you're using 64-bit you're welcome to it, I can drop it into dropbox and give you the link.

I have a couple of old core 32-bits but they are burned already, and I am not 100% sure where they are in the house.

I believe there is a kernel in the AUR that is set up for VBox.  Maybe it was VMWare, I am not sure.

I keep getting distracted from my webserver project...

huh? oooh...  shiny!

#3 2009-08-26 02:41:31

sHyLoCk

bpladirector