You are not logged in.

#1 2009-08-26 05:36:39

blackfedora

Random system hanging

*** EDIT *** see second page for post with xorg.conf, rc.conf and menu.lst files. Unfortunately the problem persists sad

I've been using arch for almost 3 months now, and I have yet to figure out what's causing my system to hang. Originally I thought it was a WoW + wine + compiz fusion problem but then I reinstalled w/o compiz and it continued so I thought it was Wine's fault, but then I had a few hang ups when wine wasn't open, or when the computer wasn't even doing anything because I was in the middle of reading an article on it. I first tried updating my nvidia drivers because it only happens when i have a GUI up and running, I've never experienced any trouble from the command line. But I've gone through 3 drivers and 3 sets of 32-bit utilities (my system is 64bit) with no luck.

I haven't yet experienced a lock up outside of wow with this driver, but I'm not too hopeful.

Does this sound like my hardware is defective somewhere? If so which part(s) and how can I test them? The annoying thing is that the crashes will happen days apart so I haven't been able to test very many things to see if they're causing a crash. It just seems to crash whenever.

Memtest ran for 10+ hours with no errors, so at this point I'm thinking of just running ubuntu for a while to see if it's the hardware. Any other thoughts or advice would be greatly appreciated, and I'll gladly post any files that are relevant. (I can't get any crash logs though since my computer goes completely unresponsive and I don't have anything try and ssh with).

Thank you for any help you can give me, I really don't want to give up on arch, it's been a great experience so far, and I hate to throw in the towel after learning so much by continuously breaking my computer big_smile. I just can't take the random full system crashes, it's like I'm back in the 90's -_-

Last edited by blackfedora (2009-09-09 04:11:38)