You are not logged in.

#1 2009-09-15 09:15:08

iru

Rhythmbox crashes on launch [Solved]

Hey everyone. I've just installed the 64-bit version of Arch on my system yesterday and everything has been running smoothly so far except for one thing: Rhythmbox. I installed it through Pacman and it worked fine until I started playing around in its options and selected another view via 'View -> Small view' or something like that. I don't remember the exact name of the option. You should be able to find out if you have Rhythmbox installed.

Anyway, since then the program immediately crashes when I launch it. Obviously, I've tried removing & reinstalling it through Pacman with no effect. The problem remains; probably because the main config file is not getting removed and I haven't been able to find it yet. Another thing I noticed (which is probably unrelated to the main problem I'm having) is that even on the first time I started Rhythmbox it complained that it was unable to launch certain plugins which was weird cause I didn't change anything on that front either. I was able to run the program without further problems from that point on though. It just started to crash when I changed the view.

The problem might be easy to fix by editing the main config, but as I said before, I haven't been able to locate it yet. So if you have any ideas let me know. I guess/hope my computer specs aren't of any relevance here. If you think they are, I'll hand em in later.

Thanks in advance!
iru

Edit: I've just removed Rhythmbox via Pacman again and installed it from AUR. Same problem. However, I checked for the error messages I got in a terminal. Actually there were two, but I remember that I had the first one of them on my previous Arch install as well and it worked fine there.

(rhythmbox:11102): Gtk-WARNING **: Unable to locate theme engine in module_path: "xfce",