You are not logged in.

#1 2009-09-15 20:44:13

vixxovs
Member
Registered: 2009-09-15
Posts: 6

Wifi On/off button on Compaq CQ60-207el

Hi guys, I've recently bought this notebook from Compaq ( Cq60-207el), everything work fine except the Wireless On/off button that is always turned off, even if the card is working. The problem is that the only way to turn off the wireless is manually from Arch.

02:00.0 Ethernet controller: Atheros Communications Inc. AR5001 Wireless Network Adapter (rev 01)

This is the wifi card model from lspci. I use that with madwifi drivers.
So, how can I enable this button ? (people with a very similar model of note told me this works on ubuntu, not perfectly but works)

Thanks!

Offline

#2 2009-09-15 21:58:38

tomk
Forum Fellow
From: Ireland
Registered: 2004-07-21
Posts: 9,839

Re: Wifi On/off button on Compaq CQ60-207el

modprobe rfkill

might help, although I'm not sure if that's going to work with madwifi. If it doesn't, switch to ath5k, then try rfkill again.

Offline

#3 2009-09-16 11:43:36

vixxovs
Member
Registered: 2009-09-15
Posts: 6

Re: Wifi On/off button on Compaq CQ60-207el

tomk wrote:
modprobe rfkill

might help, although I'm not sure if that's going to work with madwifi. If it doesn't, switch to ath5k, then try rfkill again.

Where can i find ath5k drivers ?

Offline

#4 2009-09-16 12:43:23

tomk
Forum Fellow
From: Ireland
Registered: 2004-07-21
Posts: 9,839

Re: Wifi On/off button on Compaq CQ60-207el

In the kernel package.

Offline

#5 2009-09-16 13:52:09

vixxovs
Member
Registered: 2009-09-15
Posts: 6

Re: Wifi On/off button on Compaq CQ60-207el

Sorry I'm quite newbie do you mean that I've to modprobe ath5k ?

Offline

#6 2009-09-17 19:10:45

vixxovs
Member
Registered: 2009-09-15
Posts: 6

Re: Wifi On/off button on Compaq CQ60-207el

Ok I've tried but It didn't work.

EDIT:
now the button seems to work but the color is always the same:
When i press the button after 10 secs Wicd can't find wireless conncetions, if i press again It can.
But iwconfig and ifconfig give the same identical output.

Last edited by vixxovs (2009-09-17 19:17:30)

Offline

#7 2009-09-17 19:15:45

genisis300
Member
From: Uk
Registered: 2008-01-15
Posts: 284

Re: Wifi On/off button on Compaq CQ60-207el

i have a compaq cq50 pretty much the same laptop. the button does disable to wireless card but the color doesn't change. I worked out his is because of the driver that's used.

Never did find a solution to this as i don't really use the button as i had problems getting the card to come back up.

Hope that helps
Regards
Matthew


"is adult entertainment killing our children or is killing our children entertaining adults?" Marilyn Manson

Offline

#8 2009-09-17 19:18:49

vixxovs
Member
Registered: 2009-09-15
Posts: 6

Re: Wifi On/off button on Compaq CQ60-207el

genisis300 wrote:

i have a compaq cq50 pretty much the same laptop. the button does disable to wireless card but the color doesn't change. I worked out his is because of the driver that's used.

Never did find a solution to this as i don't really use the button as i had problems getting the card to come back up.

Hope that helps
Regards
Matthew

Yes now seems to be like you, but do the button really disable the wifi card ? It's a matter of battery duration..

Offline

#9 2009-09-17 19:27:44

genisis300
Member
From: Uk
Registered: 2008-01-15
Posts: 284

Re: Wifi On/off button on Compaq CQ60-207el

no way to be 100% sure but if you press the button and run dmesg along with ifconfig etc all indications are that the card is no longer active. If memory serves the way they do this is to turn of the transmitter not the hardware.


"is adult entertainment killing our children or is killing our children entertaining adults?" Marilyn Manson

Offline

#10 2009-09-17 22:27:59

vixxovs
Member
Registered: 2009-09-15
Posts: 6

Re: Wifi On/off button on Compaq CQ60-207el

genisis300 wrote:

no way to be 100% sure but if you press the button and run dmesg along with ifconfig etc all indications are that the card is no longer active. If memory serves the way they do this is to turn of the transmitter not the hardware.

Oh ok because it's the trasmtiter that dissipes energy.

Thank you mate! big_smile
Hope with the next kernel we'll get light on button !

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB