You are not logged in.

#1 2004-11-10 03:38:16

herrard
Member
Registered: 2004-11-09
Posts: 17

Installation seems to have gone wrong

Hi. I'm new to Arch and I tried to install it yesterday. I got through all the steps of the installation just fine: partitioned the drives, mounted them, selected and installed packages, configured the system files and then installed the boot loader. I reboot the system and I get to the boot loader where I have Arch Linux and Windows dual boot. 

Here's where my problem is... I boot Arch and instead of seeing KDE load up or Gnome--I get a black screen like DOS asking for "myhost login"  I figured that Arch was just asking for me to make a new user so I login as root, make a new user and give it a password. I also give root a password. I reboot the system and nothing changes. Was there something wrong with my installation?

I think I should mention that my computer has an AMD 64 achitecture... does Arch not support this system? What does i686 architecture mean anyway?

Ok that's it. Thank you.

Offline

#2 2004-11-10 03:53:54

cactus
Taco Eater
From: t͈̫̹ͨa͖͕͎̱͈ͨ͆ć̥̖̝o̫̫̼s͈̭̱̞͍̃!̰
Registered: 2004-05-25
Posts: 4,615
Website

Re: Installation seems to have gone wrong

that is normal. arch relies on the user to config the system after install.
what you saw was the console. (for reference sake, think of it as super dos)
An arch use would login, and begin configuring files in order to start the window manager (desktop and other things).
There is ample documentation and help in these forums if you wish to give it a try.
However, if you are looking for more automatic configuration and installation, may I recommend redhat, suse(novell desktop), mandrake, or knoppix. All are very good distributions, and have the "automation" of a more turn-key type setup.

As for 686, it is a reference to the instruction set available to the intel (x86) and similar line of processors. Consider the following:

- 386                               (M386)         -=[386 Starts Here]=-
- 486                               (M486)
- 586/K5/5x86/6x86/6x86MX           (M586)         -=[586 Starts Here]=-
- Pentium-Classic                   (M586TSC)
- Pentium-MMX                       (M586MMX)
- Pentium-Pro/Celeron/Pentium-II    (M686)         -=[686 Starts Here]=-
- Pentium-III/Celeron(Coppermine)   (MPENTIUMIII)
- Pentium-4                         (MPENTIUM4)
- K6/K6-II/K6-III                   (MK6)
- Athlon/Duron/K7                   (MK7)
- Elan                              (MELAN)
- Crusoe                            (MCRUSOE)
- Winchip-C6                        (MWINCHIPC6)
- Winchip-2                         (MWINCHIP2)
- Winchip-2A/Winchip-3              (MWINCHIP3D)
- CyrixIII/VIA-C3                   (MCYRIXIII)

note: above was taken from here


"Be conservative in what you send; be liberal in what you accept." -- Postel's Law
"tacos" -- Cactus' Law
"t̥͍͎̪̪͗a̴̻̩͈͚ͨc̠o̩̙͈ͫͅs͙͎̙͊ ͔͇̫̜t͎̳̀a̜̞̗ͩc̗͍͚o̲̯̿s̖̣̤̙͌ ̖̜̈ț̰̫͓ạ̪͖̳c̲͎͕̰̯̃̈o͉ͅs̪ͪ ̜̻̖̜͕" -- -̖͚̫̙̓-̺̠͇ͤ̃ ̜̪̜ͯZ͔̗̭̞ͪA̝͈̙͖̩L͉̠̺͓G̙̞̦͖O̳̗͍

Offline

#3 2004-11-10 04:11:33

herrard
Member
Registered: 2004-11-09
Posts: 17

Re: Installation seems to have gone wrong

Oh.. I would love to try it.. I just wanted to make sure its normal since I've never seen anything like it before. I've tried SuSe and Fedora before and I liked them but I don't think they're the linux distribution for me. I've been looking around for a distribution that would help me learn more about linux--maybe i'm way over my head with Arch... we'll see. I'll try to configure it.

Thanks for your help.

Offline

#4 2004-11-10 04:42:09

cactus
Taco Eater
From: t͈̫̹ͨa͖͕͎̱͈ͨ͆ć̥̖̝o̫̫̼s͈̭̱̞͍̃!̰
Registered: 2004-05-25
Posts: 4,615
Website

Re: Installation seems to have gone wrong

make sure you check the wiki out at
wiki.archlinux.org, and follow the installation guide.
There is lots of good info there to get you up and running. big_smile

Welcome aboard.


"Be conservative in what you send; be liberal in what you accept." -- Postel's Law
"tacos" -- Cactus' Law
"t̥͍͎̪̪͗a̴̻̩͈͚ͨc̠o̩̙͈ͫͅs͙͎̙͊ ͔͇̫̜t͎̳̀a̜̞̗ͩc̗͍͚o̲̯̿s̖̣̤̙͌ ̖̜̈ț̰̫͓ạ̪͖̳c̲͎͕̰̯̃̈o͉ͅs̪ͪ ̜̻̖̜͕" -- -̖͚̫̙̓-̺̠͇ͤ̃ ̜̪̜ͯZ͔̗̭̞ͪA̝͈̙͖̩L͉̠̺͓G̙̞̦͖O̳̗͍

Offline

#5 2004-11-10 16:18:55

sarah31
Member
From: Middle of Canada
Registered: 2002-08-20
Posts: 2,975
Website

Re: Installation seems to have gone wrong

If you take your time and have the patience i really suggest you stick around for a bit. there are people here, on the mail list and irc that will help you out. just make sure you go through the docs and wiki then ask the question you need.

it may not be easy but when you have everything set uop youwill have learned alot and it is usually smooth sailing at that point.

you are not over your head unless you easily get frustrated.


AKA uknowme

I am not your friend

Offline

#6 2004-11-11 02:16:46

herrard
Member
Registered: 2004-11-09
Posts: 17

Re: Installation seems to have gone wrong

Ok. I will.

Thanks.

Offline

#7 2004-11-11 16:25:29

phrakture
Arch Overlord
From: behind you
Registered: 2003-10-29
Posts: 7,879
Website

Re: Installation seems to have gone wrong

cactus wrote:
- 386                               (M386)         -=[386 Starts Here]=-
- 486                               (M486)
- 586/K5/5x86/6x86/6x86MX           (M586)         -=[586 Starts Here]=-
- Pentium-Classic                   (M586TSC)
- Pentium-MMX                       (M586MMX)
- Pentium-Pro/Celeron/Pentium-II    (M686)         -=[686 Starts Here]=-
- Pentium-III/Celeron(Coppermine)   (MPENTIUMIII)
- Pentium-4                         (MPENTIUM4)
- K6/K6-II/K6-III                   (MK6)
- Athlon/Duron/K7                   (MK7)
- Elan                              (MELAN)
- Crusoe                            (MCRUSOE)
- Winchip-C6                        (MWINCHIPC6)
- Winchip-2                         (MWINCHIP2)
- Winchip-2A/Winchip-3              (MWINCHIP3D)
- CyrixIII/VIA-C3                   (MCYRIXIII)

note: above was taken from here

that's off a little bit - I blame redhat....
The K6, K6-II, and Cursoe do not have support for the conditional move opcode, and the K6 does not have MMX support - therefore not *ALL* 686 compiled stuff will work... and cmov is used fairly often, so be careful on these architectures

Offline

#8 2004-11-11 20:31:28

cactus
Taco Eater
From: t͈̫̹ͨa͖͕͎̱͈ͨ͆ć̥̖̝o̫̫̼s͈̭̱̞͍̃!̰
Registered: 2004-05-25
Posts: 4,615
Website

Re: Installation seems to have gone wrong

*shrug*
not my area of expertise...hence I used an outside reference.
good to know that stuff though phrak..thanks.  8)


"Be conservative in what you send; be liberal in what you accept." -- Postel's Law
"tacos" -- Cactus' Law
"t̥͍͎̪̪͗a̴̻̩͈͚ͨc̠o̩̙͈ͫͅs͙͎̙͊ ͔͇̫̜t͎̳̀a̜̞̗ͩc̗͍͚o̲̯̿s̖̣̤̙͌ ̖̜̈ț̰̫͓ạ̪͖̳c̲͎͕̰̯̃̈o͉ͅs̪ͪ ̜̻̖̜͕" -- -̖͚̫̙̓-̺̠͇ͤ̃ ̜̪̜ͯZ͔̗̭̞ͪA̝͈̙͖̩L͉̠̺͓G̙̞̦͖O̳̗͍

Offline

#9 2004-11-13 03:05:12

Xentac
Forum Fellow
From: Victoria, BC
Registered: 2003-01-17
Posts: 1,797
Website

Re: Installation seems to have gone wrong

phrakture wrote:

that's off a little bit - I blame redhat....
The K6, K6-II, and Cursoe do not have support for the conditional move opcode, and the K6 does not have MMX support - therefore not *ALL* 686 compiled stuff will work... and cmov is used fairly often, so be careful on these architectures

Last I'd heard Arch worked fine on a Crusoe.


I have discovered that all of mans unhappiness derives from only one source, not being able to sit quietly in a room
- Blaise Pascal

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB