You are not logged in.

#1 2003-07-16 20:13:12

neri
Forum Fellow
From: Victoria, Canada
Registered: 2003-05-04
Posts: 552

problem with nfs -update

Hi,

I upgraded nfs-utils last night, but i didnt work the way I expected it. AFAIR
pacman found a file /var/lib/nfs/state which "...already exists" I stopped nfs,
I rebooted the computer even without nfs in rc.conf, the problem remained.
pacman -U didnt work either. Furthermore, pacman -R nfs-utils didn't remove
the file. Finally, I removed it manually and reinstalled the new version.

Any suggestions what happened?

bye neri

Offline

#2 2003-07-16 20:56:14

Xentac
Forum Fellow
From: Victoria, BC
Registered: 2003-01-17
Posts: 1,797
Website

Re: problem with nfs -update

My guess is that whoever did the update realized that this state file would be created, if it didn't exist, so they added it to the package... then again, I could be wrong.


I have discovered that all of mans unhappiness derives from only one source, not being able to sit quietly in a room
- Blaise Pascal

Offline

#3 2003-07-16 22:21:30

neri
Forum Fellow
From: Victoria, Canada
Registered: 2003-05-04
Posts: 552

Re: problem with nfs -update

Hi,

Hm, I just cleaned up my pkg-cache only a couple of minutes ago. There have been two or three previous packages in there. I feel Murphy is around...

bye neri

Offline

#4 2003-07-16 23:17:33

apeiro
Daddy
From: Victoria, BC, Canada
Registered: 2002-08-12
Posts: 771
Website

Re: problem with nfs -update

nfs-utils 1.0.4 decided to include the state file on install, rather than create it at runtime.

This isn't a show-stopping conflict.  You can safely --force it.

Offline

#5 2003-07-28 17:42:15

neri
Forum Fellow
From: Victoria, Canada
Registered: 2003-05-04
Posts: 552

Re: problem with nfs -update

Hi,

here is one more problem I have with nfs. I don't know what it is actually
related to - the new version or my limited knowledge - so her it goes:

I connect my laptop from time to time to my mainbox via nfs.
hosts.allow:
portmap:    192.168.0.3, 192.168.0.5, 192.168.0.7
nfsd:        192.168.0.3, 192.168.0.5, 192.168.0.7
nfslock:    192.168.0.3, 192.168.0.5, 192.168.0.7
lockd:        192.168.0.3, 192.168.0.5, 192.168.0.7
rquotad:    192.168.0.3, 192.168.0.5, 192.168.0.7
mountd:        192.168.0.3, 192.168.0.5, 192.168.0.7
statd:        192.168.0.3, 192.168.0.5, 192.168.0.7
mount:        192.168.0.3, 192.168.0.5, 192.168.0.7
umount:        192.168.0.3, 192.168.0.5, 192.168.0.7

fstab
roadrunner:/usr/abs /mnt/lap_abs nfs noauto,user 0 0
roadrunner:/home/keep /mnt/lap_keep nfs noauto,user 0 0
roadrunner:/var/cache/pacman /mnt/lap_cache nfs noauto,user 0 0

everything was fine until the update, now I can mount one of the
mount-points and thats it. I can umount it with an error:

UMNT RPC: RPC: cannot receive

It is impossible to remount it, or mount a second filesystem.
now the real strange thing: If I restart the nfs-server and work then on the
client I still can work in the previously mounted system and can mount
one new system. This can be repeated until all systems are
mounted.
After all, I think it is rather a problem with configuration but I don't have
any ideas where to start. I not the real nfs crack, Really not. Does
anybody know how I can repair that?

bye neri

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB