You are not logged in.

#1 2009-09-18 10:45:00

vampires
Member
Registered: 2009-09-18
Posts: 9

cdemu and vhba module problems

Hiya

I have only just started using Arch and I find it really refreshing, like going back to the old days of early red hat lol.

Anyway my problem is I downloaded cdemu and when I try to run the daemon, it says it cannot find the vhba module, I do have it  installed, and checked that it is there. I have tried modprobing it with the same result. I have even compiled vbha from source as well, with still the same result.

here is what happens when I try to run the cdemud - ive included it with and without sudo.


/etc/rc.d/cdemud start
:: Loading vhba and loop modules                [BUSY]
FATAL: Module vhba not found.                  [FAIL]
:: Waiting for /dev/vhba_ctl                        [FAIL]
:: Starting cdemud                                     [FAIL]

$ sudo /etc/rc.d/cdemud start
Password:
:: Loading vhba and loop modules               [BUSY]
FATAL: Module vhba not found.                   [FAIL]
:: Waiting for /dev/vhba_ctl                        [FAIL]
:: Starting cdemud                                     [FAIL]



any help with this problem would be appreciated.

Regards Robbie

Offline

#2 2009-09-18 11:00:55

Andrwe
Member
From: Leipzig/Germany
Registered: 2009-06-17
Posts: 322
Website

Re: cdemu and vhba module problems

Please write the output of the following commands:

lsmod | grep vhba
pacman -Qi vhba-module

Offline

#3 2009-09-18 11:24:03

vampires
Member
Registered: 2009-09-18
Posts: 9

Re: cdemu and vhba module problems

Thand for the reply Andrwe

her are the outputs


$ lsmod | grep vhba

(nothing found with this)

$ pacman -Qi vhba-module
Name           : vhba-module
Version        : 1.2.1-3
URL            : http://cdemu.sourceforge.net/
Licenses       : GPL2 
Groups         : None
Provides       : None
Depends On     : kernel26>=2.6.30  kernel26<2.6.31 
Optional Deps  : None
Required By    : cdemu-daemon 
Conflicts With : None
Replaces       : None
Installed Size :  32.00 K
Packager       : Mateusz Herych <heniekk@gmail.com>
Architecture   : i686
Build Date     : Tue 23 Jun 2009 06:11:02 PM BST
Install Date   : Fri 18 Sep 2009 10:36:44 AM BST
Install Reason : Installed as a dependency for another package
Install Script : Yes
Description    : Kernel module that emulates SCSI device


regards Robbie

Offline

#4 2009-09-18 11:39:59

Xabre
Member
From: Serbia
Registered: 2009-03-19
Posts: 725

Re: cdemu and vhba module problems

Do you use custom kernel, or the one from testing ?

Offline

#5 2009-09-18 11:43:18

vampires
Member
Registered: 2009-09-18
Posts: 9

Re: cdemu and vhba module problems

Thanks for the reply Xabre

As far as I am aware I am using the latest stable kernel. Installed Arch then did an update but have not enabled the testing repository.


# uname -r
2.6.30-ARCH



Regards Robbie

Last edited by vampires (2009-09-18 11:45:31)

Offline

#6 2009-09-18 12:24:23

Andrwe
Member
From: Leipzig/Germany
Registered: 2009-06-17
Posts: 322
Website

Re: cdemu and vhba module problems

Does modprobe vhba as root give an error?

Offline

#7 2009-09-18 12:34:27

vampires
Member
Registered: 2009-09-18
Posts: 9

Re: cdemu and vhba module problems

yes andrwe

It gives the same error

FATAL: Module vhba not found.

Last edited by vampires (2009-09-18 12:35:12)

Offline

#8 2009-09-18 13:17:17

hbekel
Member
Registered: 2008-10-04
Posts: 311

Re: cdemu and vhba module problems

pacman -Ql vhba-module | grep vhba.ko

This should give

vhba-module /lib/modules/2.6.30-ARCH/extra/vhba.ko

Then, as root, run

depmod -a
modinfo vhba
modprobe vhba

Note that the depmod -a should have been run from the packages install script already, but if the .ko file is installed in the right place and modprobe/info still doesn't find it, another depmod -a might be required.

Offline

#9 2009-09-18 14:05:42

vampires
Member
Registered: 2009-09-18
Posts: 9

Re: cdemu and vhba module problems

Thanks Hbekel smile

your advice was excellent, it works fine now, just need to sort out a gui for it now lol

Regards Robbie

Offline

#10 2009-10-12 13:30:04

Primoz
Member
From: Ljubljana-Slovena-EU
Registered: 2009-03-04
Posts: 676

Re: cdemu and vhba module problems

I got a similar problem.
When I try run modprobe vhba, I get this error:

WARNING: All config files need .conf: /etc/modprobe.d/framebuffer_blacklist.pacsave, it will be ignored in a future release.

I'm using KDEmod, which provides it's own version of vhba, so I have two version (at least that's what shaman's showing)
And none of what helped vampires doesn't help me.


Arch x86_64 ATI AMD APU KDE frameworks 5
---------------------------------
Whatever I do, I always end up with something horribly mis-configured.

Offline

#11 2009-10-12 13:39:46

hbekel
Member
Registered: 2008-10-04
Posts: 311

Re: cdemu and vhba module problems

Primoz wrote:

I got a similar problem.
When I try run modprobe vhba, I get this error:

WARNING: All config files need .conf: /etc/modprobe.d/framebuffer_blacklist.pacsave, it will be ignored in a future release.

I'm using KDEmod, which provides it's own version of vhba, so I have two version (at least that's what shaman's showing)
And none of what helped vampires doesn't help me.

It's not an error, it's a warning. You haven't taken care of your *pacnew and *pacsave files. Apart from that, if that's the only message you get, then the module loaded ok. (check back with lsmod)

If you really have two versions of the module installed side by side, find out where they reside with pacman -Ql <packagename>. Look out for a file called vhba.ko. You may have to load the kdemod-specific module via insmod /path/to/vhba.ko to load the right one.

Offline

#12 2009-10-12 14:48:39

Primoz
Member
From: Ljubljana-Slovena-EU
Registered: 2009-03-04
Posts: 676

Re: cdemu and vhba module problems

Now it works! (without changing anything).
It does work directly from bash. Just the Dolphin option to mount image doesnt work.


Arch x86_64 ATI AMD APU KDE frameworks 5
---------------------------------
Whatever I do, I always end up with something horribly mis-configured.

Offline

#13 2009-11-10 17:58:12

Primoz
Member
From: Ljubljana-Slovena-EU
Registered: 2009-03-04
Posts: 676

Re: cdemu and vhba module problems

I have another question regarding vhba and cdemud. I've added vhba and loop to modules in rc.conf and cdemud to daemons. But I get "FAIL" while starting cdemud, but I'm not completely sure.
It might be vhba/ctl that fails.
So the question is there any log app similar to boot-chart that would record what happens during boot.
And secondly, how do I get cdemud started at start-up?

Last edited by Primoz (2009-11-10 17:58:48)


Arch x86_64 ATI AMD APU KDE frameworks 5
---------------------------------
Whatever I do, I always end up with something horribly mis-configured.

Offline

#14 2017-05-01 13:10:19

ViErMaAlJ
Member
From: Belgium
Registered: 2011-12-28
Posts: 2

Re: cdemu and vhba module problems

Sorry to resurrect this old thread but have the exact same issue.

when installing:

pacman -S cdemu-daemon
modprobe: FATAL: Module vhba not found in directory /lib/modules/4.9.25-1-lts

cat /usr/lib/modules-load.d/cdemu.conf
vhba

pacman -Qi vhba-module
Name            : vhba-module
Version         : 20161009-12
Description     : Kernel module that emulates SCSI devices
Architecture    : x86_64
URL             : http://cdemu.sourceforge.net/
Licenses        : GPL
Groups          : None
Provides        : None
Depends On      : linux>=4.10  linux<4.11
Optional Deps   : None
Required By     : cdemu-daemon
Optional For    : None
Conflicts With  : None
Replaces        : None
Installed Size  : 29.00 KiB
Packager        : Tobias Powalowski <tpowa@archlinux.org>
Build Date      : Fri 28 Apr 2017 09:27:45 CEST
Install Date    : Mon 01 May 2017 15:03:33 CEST
Install Reason  : Installed as a dependency for another package
Install Script  : Yes
Validated By    : Signature

pacman -Ql vhba-module | grep vhba.ko
vhba-module /usr/lib/modules/extramodules-4.10-ARCH/vhba.ko

modprobe vhba
modprobe: FATAL: Module vhba not found in directory /lib/modules/4.9.25-1-lts

modinfo vhba
modinfo: ERROR: Module vhba not found.

uname -r
4.9.25-1-lts

depmod -a didn't change anything

I did reboot and pacman -Suy is up to date.

Pretty sure I could symlink the ko file to the /lib/modules dir  but that doesn't seem the way to go smile
Any suggestions ?

Last edited by ViErMaAlJ (2017-05-01 13:11:07)

Offline

#15 2017-05-01 13:33:42

Lone_Wolf
Member
From: Netherlands, Europe
Registered: 2005-10-04
Posts: 8,497

Re: cdemu and vhba module problems

Try the AUR vhba-dkms pacakge.


Multi-init booting with apg Openrc and systemd coexisting
Automounting : not needed, i prefer pmount
Aur helpers : makepkg + my own local repo === rarely need them

Offline

#16 2017-05-01 13:43:55

x33a
Forum Fellow
Registered: 2009-08-15
Posts: 4,586
Website

Re: cdemu and vhba module problems

Please open a new thread: https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Co … bumping.22

Closing.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB