You are not logged in.

#1 2009-09-21 23:47:31

Bruce_M
Website

[Solved] Burning CD now - so real newbie questions concerns.

[Solved] See this post!

Hi Folks,

I'm really new with Arch - burning my first CD now.

So I do have a few Q's since if I mess up my wifes stuff I'm dead meat!

1.  In the install process is there a way to:
- a - select what partition / goes on?
- b - select what partition /home goes on?

I have at the moment two versions of Linux installed, both use the same /home although they are separated.  I can hear the HUH's out there now.  Like this:

sda1 / #1 - sda2 - /home #1 c/w access to sda5 - /media/1/WatchMe (a copy of home)

sda3 - swap

sda6 - / #2 - sda7 - /home #2  c/w access to sda5 - /media/1/WatchMe

I plan on putting Arch on sda8 (/ = 20GB) and sda9 (/home 30GB) c/w access to sda5 - /media/1/WatchMe

Also I have a "latam" (Latin America) keyboard....

Section "InputDevice"
    Identifier    "Generic Keyboard"
    Driver        "kbd"
    Option        "XkbRules"    "xorg"
    Option        "XkbModel"    "pc105"
    Option        "XkbLayout"    "latam"
    Option        "XkbOptions"    "lv3:ralt_switch"

I see where in install says: * If you prefer a non-US keymap or specific consolefont, type km to change any of these.

Will that allow for latam and cp105 ?
-----------------------------------------
b57b844e23df599f0e25fdd2232223de  archlinux-2009.08-netinstall-x86_64.iso

Mon Sep 21, 19:54 $ md5sum archlinux-2009.08-netinstall-x86_64.iso
b57b844e23df599f0e25fdd2232223de  archlinux-2009.08-netinstall-x86_64.iso
0 bruloo@hh: /media/1
Mon Sep 21, 19:55 $
-----------------------------------------

CD burned and ready, I'm chompin' at the bit!

Thanks....

Last edited by Bruce_M (2009-09-26 20:02:22)

Architecturally speaking in every arch there is a keystone!
In ARCHlinux it's KISS - = Keeping It Supported Stone = -
Does that make ARCH the Keystone of Linux?

#2 2009-09-22 00:36:16

slightlystoopid