You are not logged in.

#1 2009-09-22 13:26:11

kaddy

arghhhh im nearly installed... how do i complete it!????

hi peoples..... im new to arch.... i've installed the system.... then i reboot and login with my username and password.... ofcoarse at this moment i havn't got xorg or a desktop environment..... so i try use pacman to install xorg and what not from a video tutorial i saw by typing:  pacman -Syu to update system or/and pacman -S xorg hal kde and i keep getting "xorg package not found, searching for group... error: xorg not found in sync db

how the heck do i install xorg and kde using packman????? why am i getting errors????? Please help????

thanks in advance...
ps... i chose a mirror by deleteing the hash......
what am i doing wrong?????

#2 2009-09-22 13:36:03

rusty99

Re: arghhhh im nearly installed... how do i complete it!????

Did you run pacman -Syy after uncommenting a mirror?

#3 2009-09-22 13:38:41

litemotiv
Forum Fellow

welcome to the forums kaddy smile

the name of the package is "xorg-server", i think the Beginners Guide may need to be updated since it only mentions "xorg". i don't use kde myself, but i believe the base package might be called "kdebase-workspace" (the "kde" package listed in the wiki doesn't seem to apply here as well)..

ᶘ ᵒᴥᵒᶅ

#4 2009-09-22 13:39:19

kaddy

yer, just tried.... it says     error: failed retrieving file blah blah from tfp.iinet.net.au transient over and over again

same for every mirror i try..

any suggestions????

#5 2009-09-22 13:56:53

Runiq

Welcome, kaddy.

Do you have your internet connection set up properly? Can you ping sites/mirrors? (e.g.

ping www.archlinux.org

on the commandline)

#6 2009-09-22 13:58:49

kaddy

no matter what i use packman for.... i get the same error.... which is package not found, searching for group... error blah blah : not found in sync db

its almost as if i can't download from the mirror i chose... but i get the same error with EVERY MIRROR!
what the hell!!!?????