You are not logged in.

#1 2009-09-22 22:32:37

q1jack

Newcomer looking for some tips!

Hey, I'm new to Arch(and linux in general), I am looking for some tips/tricks/howtwo's/tutorials/ebooks that anyone could recommend for a linux newbie like myself, I'm very eager to learn about both arch and linux in general. So arch forums, please help thou!

Kind regards, Jack.

#2 2009-09-22 22:34:11

fijam
Website

Re: Newcomer looking for some tips!

#3 2009-09-22 22:47:02

q1jack

Awesome thanks fijam, I had only seen the beginners wiki previous to that, will defo give it a read!

Keep em coming archers! <3

#4 2009-09-22 22:49:19

ngoonee
Forum Fellow

First lesson, go to wiki/google BEFORE coming to forums. Even IRC is preferable to forums (depending what time it is)

Allan-Volunteer on the (topic being discussed) mailn lists. You never get the people who matters attention on the forums.
jasonwryan-Installing Arch is a measure of your literacy. Maintaining Arch is a measure of your diligence. Contributing to Arch is a measure of your competence.
Griemak-Bleeding edge, not bleeding flat. Edge denotes falls will occur from time to time. Bring your own parachute.

#5 2009-09-22 22:50:50

sand_man

ngoonee wrote:

First lesson, go to wiki/google BEFORE coming to forums. Even IRC is preferable to forums (depending what time it is)

Really? I can imagine most people in the irc channel just referring to the wiki anyway.

If you have any specific questions that you can't find the answer to, feel free to post them here.

neutral

#6 2009-09-22 22:51:49

Lich

http://tldp.org/LDP/abs/abs-guide.pdf
A hard copy of that sits right next to my Bible (and that's not even a joke). I suggest you do the same. If you can't spare the cash for printing, having it open and learning from it is ok too I guess smile.
No Linux user should go on without atleast basic knowledge of  the wonderful world of shell scripting.

Last edited by Lich (2009-09-22 22:52:39)