You are not logged in.

#1 2009-09-25 09:29:52

LonelyStar
Member
Registered: 2007-12-09
Posts: 123

xmonad, dzen and my own dzen feeder programm

Hi,

I use dzen2 and a python script to display system information:

python dzen_feeder.py | dzen2

The interesting part of the python script looks like this:

while(True):
        PrintAllSystemInfoForDzen()
    print
    sys.stdout.flush()
    time.sleep(1)

Now I want to combine this with XMonad.Hooks.DynamicLog.
Without my python feeder, I would do:

xmonad | dzen2

But now I want to somehow make the python reader read the dzen output and incoperate it.

But! It should react imidiatly when I switch the workspace. So time.sleep(1) is not appropriate.

But! I also do not want it to use all system resources, so leaving out the time.sleep(1) is also not appropriate.

Ideas?

Thanks!
Nathan

Offline

#2 2009-09-25 10:49:32

bender02
Member
From: UK
Registered: 2007-02-04
Posts: 1,328

Re: xmonad, dzen and my own dzen feeder programm

First I'm sorry since what I propose is not an answer to your question. The way I do it (I use xmonad) is that the top bar is in fact 2 instances of dzen - one of them is xmonad stuff (more-less "xmonad | dzen2") and the second one is some system info (an equivalent of "python dzen_feeder.py | dzen2"), and I pass the parameter to respective instances of dzen to position them correctly. The result looks like just one dzen bar.

Offline

#3 2009-09-25 10:54:59

LonelyStar
Member
Registered: 2007-12-09
Posts: 123

Re: xmonad, dzen and my own dzen feeder programm

Mmmh ... why not ...

It removes the possibility of putting something to the right of the xmonad window list, but I do not think I need that.

My I ask what you use to feed dzen?

Regards,
Nathan

Offline

#4 2009-09-25 11:20:31

bender02
Member
From: UK
Registered: 2007-02-04
Posts: 1,328

Re: xmonad, dzen and my own dzen feeder programm

LonelyStar wrote:

It removes the possibility of putting something to the right of the xmonad window list, but I do not think I need that.

Well I have them next to each other (left - right), the first dzen has '-w 556' and the second one '-w 404 -x 556' as parameters, so my info is to the right of xmonad's workspace/window info. I actually run stalonetray to the right of the second dzen2 (so that I get a system tray in the upper right corner of the screen).

LonelyStar wrote:

My I ask what you use to feed dzen?

Some shell script I got a long time ago from the forums and subsequently modified. I can put it somewhere if you want.

Offline

#5 2009-09-25 11:39:21

LonelyStar
Member
Registered: 2007-12-09
Posts: 123

Re: xmonad, dzen and my own dzen feeder programm

Hi,

If it is not much trouble, it would be nice if you let me have a look in it.
Thanks!

Regards,
Nathan

Offline

#6 2009-09-25 12:04:26

bender02
Member
From: UK
Registered: 2007-02-04
Posts: 1,328

Re: xmonad, dzen and my own dzen feeder programm

Here you go: http://pastebin.ca/1579087

Last edited by bender02 (2009-09-25 12:06:39)

Offline

#7 2009-12-06 09:23:37

yvonney
Member
Registered: 2008-06-11
Posts: 671

Re: xmonad, dzen and my own dzen feeder programm

@bender02  request for configs for xmonad/dzen request.
You seem to have running exactly what I tried to get working.

dzen2 / xmonad / scripts (not conky) / stalonetray

I've had a thrilling time using xmonad 0.9.2 and dzen2 this past month. I'm at the point now where I am ready 'again' to try and get the status bar working and also with stalonetray.

I don't know if I need a .stalonetrayrc, I DO like the idea of two daen instances AND stalone tray AND scripts (and not conky)
I've enjoyed my xmonad 0.9.2 struggles these past weeks as a lot of stuff out there to study is still xmonad 0.8 and things like defaultGaps etc .etc. had me studyinyg a bit more.

Would it be possible to see absolutely ANYTHING on stalonetray, xmonad, dzen2, scripts and anything else you think will actually get me going and not noodling around endlessly.   I will understand of course if you're too busy certainly.

The link above has expired.  I am new to much yet with all parts I can usually get things running.
I found the scripts I used did not work with dzen and me. Then I found that I did not do my .xinitrc right to get stalonetray to work. etc etc etc.

So yes, If I am fortunate it will be possible to see what works from you.

Again, I do not mind at all what happens (ie. you may be too busy etc.) though I did want to ask you.


thanks for reading.

Last edited by yvonney (2009-12-06 18:15:58)

Offline

#8 2009-12-16 19:30:42

bender02
Member
From: UK
Registered: 2007-02-04
Posts: 1,328

Re: xmonad, dzen and my own dzen feeder programm

@yvonney: sorry, i've been traveling for a week. if you're still interested, i'll post xmonad related stuff somewhere semi-permanent.

EDIT: here it goes: http://freeshell.de/~teatime/ff/xmonad-configs.tbz2
it's what I have in ~/.xmonad, except xinitrc and stalonetrayrc. I'm pretty sure they won't work right away for you, there are some hardcoded paths and things like this, so take a look, if you have any questions, either PM me or post here. good luck smile

Last edited by bender02 (2009-12-16 19:54:39)

Offline

#9 2009-12-17 07:14:14

yvonney
Member
Registered: 2008-06-11
Posts: 671

Re: xmonad, dzen and my own dzen feeder programm

Great! looking forward to the weekend.

Offline

#10 2009-12-17 14:37:17

Mr.Elendig
#archlinux@freenode channel op
From: The intertubes
Registered: 2004-11-07
Posts: 4,092

Re: xmonad, dzen and my own dzen feeder programm

Take a look at the dzen multiplexer, or just run multiple dzen instances. (both are commonly used)

Last edited by Mr.Elendig (2009-12-17 14:37:57)


Evil #archlinux@libera.chat channel op and general support dude.
. files on github, Screenshots, Random pics and the rest

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB