You are not logged in.

#1 2009-10-05 14:46:59

ilembitov

10 inch netbooks vs 12 inch netbooks

Hi, all! Wanted to ask for your advice here, people.
May seem strange to many, but I was thinking about choosing a netbook as my primary workhorse.
Basically, this is what I do with my current laptop:
-web browsing/IM/mailing
-writing texts, reading lots of pdf/ps/dvi/djvu texts
-multimedia: listening to music/watching some movies
-games: occasionally I do play some, like nethack, Ultima 7 (via exult), maybe some old games (pre-2003 only).

That's it! I'm no programmer, so I don't need heavy stuff like NetBeans/Eclipse, I am no designer, so I don't need Blender/Inkspace/GIMP. I would say that 65% of my time I lurk through numerous websites/RSS and read e-books for my studies, work and fun, 30% I write (and I mean, a lot) and 5% for everything else.

Which is why I thought: essentially netbook is a lightweight subnotebook of Pentium-M era (since Atoms were designed to be on par with Pentium M in terms of productivity) with wireless connectivity and extended battery life. I thought that I'll be fine with performance as long I run nothing heavier than XFCE-based environment. There are only two restrictions: screen and keyboard. Which are of the biggest importance to me. Another important thing is whether I could upgrade netbook to get WiMAX connectivity by adding an Intel card. So I began looking for a netbook around $400.

So the question is: can you actually use a 10 inch netbook for the purposes I am talking about? Can I spend a whole day (sometimes up to 8 hours continiously) reading and writing texts on a 10 inch model? I was actually thinking about eeepc 1000he. Many people praise the chicklet keyboard, and the screen is not glossy, so could this be my choice?

Of course, there is no universal truth here (people have different requirements, some may have bigger hands, for example), but still I wanted for an advice.

#2 2009-10-05 17:33:52

blasse