You are not logged in.

#1 2009-10-07 13:31:52

Vamp898
Member
From: ドイツではまだ住んでいる
Registered: 2009-01-03
Posts: 866
Website

GNOME-Shell in Testing/gnome-unstable

I think there have to be some binary packages in testing/gnome-unstable. This mess on AUR is the hell with GNOME-Shell atm (07.10.09 15:30:17) it does not compile in any way.

i think when a git version is compiling and running the maintainer should package some binarys and put it into gnome-unstable or testing. Beceause it can happen that 5 minutes later nothings compiles anymore

Offline

#2 2009-10-07 13:49:20

AndyRTR
Developer
From: Magdeburg/Germany
Registered: 2005-10-07
Posts: 1,640

Re: GNOME-Shell in Testing/gnome-unstable

yes, X-mas isn't that far away. write down your wishes right here now.

honestly you won't see such packages in any official repo. we have to work hard to keep the stable packages up to date. there's not much time left for fun stuff.

Offline

#3 2009-10-07 13:50:55

flamelab
Member
From: Athens, Hellas (Greece)
Registered: 2007-12-26
Posts: 2,160

Re: GNOME-Shell in Testing/gnome-unstable

The whole problem with Gnome shell is that it needs a strict order of making and installing it's makedeps and deps. It will need a lot of care.

Offline

#4 2009-10-07 14:39:36

Vamp898
Member
From: ドイツではまだ住んでいる
Registered: 2009-01-03
Posts: 866
Website

Re: GNOME-Shell in Testing/gnome-unstable

As i understand, the GNOME Homepage says that a unfinished Version of GNOME-Shell is a official part of GNOME 2.28

http://library.gnome.org/misc/release-n … ingforward

A preview of GNOME Shell is available in 2.28 and is available for download

Offline

#5 2009-10-07 14:43:58

flamelab
Member
From: Athens, Hellas (Greece)
Registered: 2007-12-26
Posts: 2,160

Re: GNOME-Shell in Testing/gnome-unstable

Optional though. So it will be required in the gnome group in the next release.

Offline

#6 2009-10-07 14:47:41

Vamp898
Member
From: ドイツではまだ住んでいる
Registered: 2009-01-03
Posts: 866
Website

Re: GNOME-Shell in Testing/gnome-unstable

Ok i will wait smile

Offline

#7 2009-10-12 18:39:16

Cosmin
Member
Registered: 2008-10-06
Posts: 248

Re: GNOME-Shell in Testing/gnome-unstable

gnome-shell 2.28.0-1 is in aur ... now compiling big_smile

Offline

#8 2009-10-12 20:26:00

mathieui
Member
Registered: 2009-07-21
Posts: 38
Website

Re: GNOME-Shell in Testing/gnome-unstable

Cosmin wrote:

gnome-shell 2.28.0-1 is in aur ... now compiling big_smile

Building the 14 missing deps before tongue

Offline

#9 2009-10-12 20:30:48

Cosmin
Member
Registered: 2008-10-06
Posts: 248

Re: GNOME-Shell in Testing/gnome-unstable

mathieui wrote:
Cosmin wrote:

gnome-shell 2.28.0-1 is in aur ... now compiling big_smile

Building the 14 missing deps before tongue

I'm still in that phase too. Let me knowhow it goes. I have some problems ... roll

Offline

#10 2009-10-14 04:10:14

samjh
Member
From: Australia
Registered: 2009-08-25
Posts: 34
Website

Re: GNOME-Shell in Testing/gnome-unstable

Just noticed that Gnome has been upgraded to 2.28 in the official repo.  Will gnome-shell be released too, or is it going to be limited to AUR for the time being?

Offline

#11 2009-10-14 16:49:48

mathieui
Member
Registered: 2009-07-21
Posts: 38
Website

Re: GNOME-Shell in Testing/gnome-unstable

Cosmin wrote:
mathieui wrote:
Cosmin wrote:

gnome-shell 2.28.0-1 is in aur ... now compiling big_smile

Building the 14 missing deps before tongue

I'm still in that phase too. Let me knowhow it goes. I have some problems ... roll

I did that last night tongue
The instructions are in the comments on the AUR pages ^^
you have to remove the package gstreamer0.10-bad before doing that (do not ask me why, but that's the only way to install gnome shell).
Then build gobject-introspection-git and gir-repository-git (this is the one that cannot bear gstreamer0.10-bad when compiling) an then install gnome-shell-git with a package manager that handles the AUR and the dependencies (for example, yaourt).
That should be fine, then.
But I don't see any customization option (not with right/middle-click/whatever nor in the gnome control panel).

Man, it rocks anyway.
You can even run it along KDE4 big_smile (and it's stable \o/).

Offline

#12 2009-10-16 17:20:06

killajoe
Member
From: Berlin Planet Earth
Registered: 2007-07-04
Posts: 155
Website

Re: GNOME-Shell in Testing/gnome-unstable

i found that inside the gir-repository source there are 2 files gir-repository-0.6.5/gir/Clutter-0.8.xpath and /backup/gir-repository-0.6.5/gir/clutter-0.8.c may that works not good together with clutter 1.0???

And that "ValueError: Couldn't find include 'Pango-1.0.gir'" error i saw often...

inside configure from gir-repository i found that:

BUILD_PANGOXFT_FALSE
BUILD_PANGOXFT_TRUE
PANGOXFT_LIBS
PANGOXFT_CFLAGS
BUILD_PANGO_FALSE
BUILD_PANGO_TRUE
PANGO_LIBS
PANGO_CFLAGS

May  there have  to be compile options to fix the problems or it is a upstream error?? caus on uBuNtu forums they have that Pango-1.0.gir ... Pango in the Repos are 1.26 so may  any problems with this?


Cancel me not -- for what then shall remain?
Abscissas, some mantissas, modules, modes, A root or two, a torus and a node:
The inverse of my verse, a null domain.
-- Stanislaw Lem, The Cyberiad

Offline

#13 2009-11-06 08:16:18

cb474
Member
Registered: 2009-04-04
Posts: 465

Re: GNOME-Shell in Testing/gnome-unstable

I realize this is possibly sacrilege to say in the Arch forums, but if you're just curious to try Gnome-Shell you could install Ubuntu on a separate partition and then use these instructions to install Gnome-Shell:

http://www.omgubuntu.co.uk/2009/09/how- … aunty.html

That's what I did, because I didn't want to do anything that was going to mess up my Gnome install in Arch. In the new version of Ubuntu, Karmic, it's ridiculously easy to install Gnome-Shell.

sudo aptitude build-dep gnome-shell

That's it. It's a 14mb download. So it takes like 2 minutes. And then "gnome-shell --replace" in a terminal to run it.

How quickly and easily it installed was the most impressive part to me.

Offline

#14 2010-01-28 12:03:52

scottuss
Member
From: England
Registered: 2009-02-20
Posts: 77

Re: GNOME-Shell in Testing/gnome-unstable

cb474 wrote:

I realize this is possibly sacrilege to say in the Arch forums, but if you're just curious to try Gnome-Shell you could install Ubuntu on a separate partition and then use these instructions to install Gnome-Shell:

http://www.omgubuntu.co.uk/2009/09/how- … aunty.html

That's what I did, because I didn't want to do anything that was going to mess up my Gnome install in Arch. In the new version of Ubuntu, Karmic, it's ridiculously easy to install Gnome-Shell.

sudo aptitude build-dep gnome-shell

That's it. It's a 14mb download. So it takes like 2 minutes. And then "gnome-shell --replace" in a terminal to run it.

How quickly and easily it installed was the most impressive part to me.

Why would this be sacrilege? That's exactly how I'm using Gnome Shell (it's awesome on my eee 701!) Remember, not every distro is perfect for everything! Use whatever suits.

Offline

#15 2010-01-29 02:43:32

cb474
Member
Registered: 2009-04-04
Posts: 465

Re: GNOME-Shell in Testing/gnome-unstable

My tongue was in my cheek a bit, when I wrote "sacrilege." Obviously if I didn't think it was a good and easy was to try/use Gnome-Shell, I wouldn't have suggested it.

Offline

#16 2010-02-06 15:56:19

gun26
Member
Registered: 2007-07-05
Posts: 54

Re: GNOME-Shell in Testing/gnome-unstable

I just managed to build gnome-shell-git and its dependencies using the PKGBUILDs in AUR. I'm interested in following the user interface changes KDE has already gone through with 4.x and gnome is about to go through with gnome 3.0 and gnome-shell. I'm running it now and I'm not sure what to make of it. A centerpiece seems to be a composited scale view of your running apps. I like places & devices and recent items in the menu, but launching applications has definitely taken a back seat. If you want to run anything in the gnome preferences menu, you have to resort to Alt-F2. And things don't look very good unless you have a dark gtk theme installed. I settled on gtk-theme-wasp from AUR.

Anyone running a recent gnome-shell regularly, either here in Arch or other distros? What do you think of the usability? Do you use it day in day out? Will non-computer-geeks - always a big target audience for gnome - understand it?

Offline

#17 2010-03-13 18:05:49

napsy
Member
Registered: 2009-03-07
Posts: 48

Re: GNOME-Shell in Testing/gnome-unstable

I've also managed to build gnome-shell from git but am unable to runn the shell.

Here's the output:

./gnome-shell --replace
IRQ's not enabled, falling back to busy waits: 2 0
    JS ERROR: !!!   Exception was: Error: Requiring Clutter, version none: Typelib file for namespace 'PangoFT2', version '1.0' not found
    JS ERROR: !!!     lineNumber = '0'
    JS ERROR: !!!     fileName = 'gjs_throw'
    JS ERROR: !!!     stack = 'Error("Requiring Clutter, version none: Typelib file for namespace 'PangoFT2', version '1.0' not found")@:0
("Requiring Clutter, version none: Typelib file for namespace 'PangoFT2', version '1.0' not found")@gjs_throw:0
@/home/luka/gnome-shell/source/gnome-shell/js/ui/main.js:3
'
    JS ERROR: !!!     message = 'Requiring Clutter, version none: Typelib file for namespace 'PangoFT2', version '1.0' not found'
    JS ERROR: !!!   Exception was: Error: Requiring Clutter, version none: Typelib file for namespace 'PangoFT2', version '1.0' not found
    JS ERROR: !!!     lineNumber = '0'
    JS ERROR: !!!     fileName = 'gjs_throw'
    JS ERROR: !!!     stack = 'Error("Requiring Clutter, version none: Typelib file for namespace 'PangoFT2', version '1.0' not found")@:0
("Requiring Clutter, version none: Typelib file for namespace 'PangoFT2', version '1.0' not found")@gjs_throw:0
@/home/luka/gnome-shell/source/gnome-shell/js/ui/main.js:3
Error("Chained exception")@:0
("Chained exception")@gjs_throw:0
@<main>:1
'
    JS ERROR: !!!     message = 'Requiring Clutter, version none: Typelib file for namespace 'PangoFT2', version '1.0' not found'
Opozorilo upravljalnika oken: Log level 32: Execution of main.js threw exception: Error: Requiring Clutter, version none: Typelib file for namespace 'PangoFT2', version '1.0' not found
luka@luka-laptop:~/gnome-shell/source/gnome-shell/src% Cannot register the panel shell: there is already one running.

Offline

#18 2010-03-13 18:57:11

skottish
Forum Fellow
From: Here
Registered: 2006-06-16
Posts: 7,931

Re: GNOME-Shell in Testing/gnome-unstable

@napsy,

I don't know anything about gnome-shell, but your output seems to be complaining a lot about missing clutter libraries.

Offline

#19 2010-03-13 19:05:10

wonder
Developer
From: Bucharest, Romania
Registered: 2006-07-05
Posts: 5,937
Website

Re: GNOME-Shell in Testing/gnome-unstable

skottish wrote:

@napsy,

I don't know anything about gnome-shell, but your output seems to be complaining a lot about missing clutter libraries.

neah. his pango haven't been compiled with gobject-instropection support.

@napsy, I suggest to enable gnome-unstable and use gnome-shell from there.

Last edited by wonder (2010-03-13 19:05:39)


Give what you have. To someone, it may be better than you dare to think.
Blog

Offline

#20 2010-03-13 20:44:16

napsy
Member
Registered: 2009-03-07
Posts: 48

Re: GNOME-Shell in Testing/gnome-unstable

how do I enable gnome-unstable?

Offline

#21 2010-03-13 20:45:37

wonder
Developer
From: Bucharest, Romania
Registered: 2006-07-05
Posts: 5,937
Website

Re: GNOME-Shell in Testing/gnome-unstable

napsy wrote:

how do I enable gnome-unstable?

http://archlinux.me/wonder/2010/03/gnom … -repo.html


Give what you have. To someone, it may be better than you dare to think.
Blog

Offline

#22 2010-03-13 21:10:48

napsy
Member
Registered: 2009-03-07
Posts: 48

Re: GNOME-Shell in Testing/gnome-unstable

Ok I installed gnome-unstable. But now metacity won't run and I have borderless windows. If I manually run metacity I get:

% metacity
Window manager warning: "(null)", that was found in the database isn't a valid modifier for mouse buttons.
Window manager warning: could not parse description "(null)" from GConf key /apps/metacity/general/titlebar_font
Window manager warning: 0 saved in GConf key /apps/metacity/general/num_workspaces is not between 1 and 36
**
metacity:ERROR:core/prefs.c:2482:meta_prefs_get_workspace_name: assertion failed: (workspace_names[i] != NULL)

I translated the output from my language to english so it's not quote on quote.

Offline

#23 2010-03-13 21:18:03

wonder
Developer
From: Bucharest, Romania
Registered: 2006-07-05
Posts: 5,937
Website

Re: GNOME-Shell in Testing/gnome-unstable

so you have some inconsistency there. try starting it with clean configurations.  something is fishy with your local configurationsbasically is says that:
/apps/metacity/general/titlebar_font shouldn't be empty and
/apps/metacity/general/num_workspaces is 0 but it has to be between 1->36.


Give what you have. To someone, it may be better than you dare to think.
Blog

Offline

#24 2010-03-13 21:19:21

napsy
Member
Registered: 2009-03-07
Posts: 48

Re: GNOME-Shell in Testing/gnome-unstable

I deleted ~/.gconf, ~/.gnome2, ~/gnome2_private and ~/gconfd but the message is still the same. Shouldn't gnome rebuild the gconf database?

Offline

#25 2010-03-13 21:31:24

wonder
Developer
From: Bucharest, Romania
Registered: 2006-07-05
Posts: 5,937
Website

Re: GNOME-Shell in Testing/gnome-unstable

napsy wrote:

I deleted ~/.gconf, ~/.gnome2, ~/gnome2_private and ~/gconfd but the message is still the same. Shouldn't gnome rebuild the gconf database?

sure but is more your problem since metacity wasn't updated and maybe some packages that you installed from aur messed up metacity schemas. you could reinstall metacity to install the correct schema.


Give what you have. To someone, it may be better than you dare to think.
Blog

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB